Examen de PostFinance E-Trading 2022 – Avantages et inconvénients

Par Baptiste Wicht | Mis à jour: | Investir

(Information: certains des liens ci-dessous peuvent être des liens d'affiliation)

PostFinance est une banque et un courtier suisse réputé. Ils sont généralement considérés comme très abordables et très faciles à utiliser.

Si vous voulez un courtier suisse, devez-vous utiliser PostFinance en tant qu’investisseur suisse, notamment en tant qu’investisseur passif ? C’est ce que nous allons découvrir dans cet examen approfondi.

Dans cet article, nous verrons ce que PostFinance offre en tant que courtier, combien il coûte, et bien plus encore. À la fin de cet examen, vous saurez si PostFinance est un bon courtier pour vos investissements ou non.

Je ne parle de PostFinance que comme d’un courtier, pas comme d’une banque.

PostFinance E-Trading

Logo de PostFinance
Logo de PostFinance

PostFinance est la banque de la Poste suisse. Elle a été fondée en 1906 déjà. Ils ont obtenu une licence bancaire en 2013. Elle est aujourd’hui l’une des plus grandes institutions financières de détail en Suisse.

Nous nous concentrons uniquement sur la partie e-trading de PostFinance. Ils proposent des comptes bancaires depuis très longtemps, mais nous n’en parlerons pas. Si vous êtes à la recherche de bons comptes bancaires, lisez mon article sur les meilleures banques en Suisse.

Avec PostFinance E-Trading, vous aurez accès à de nombreux instruments financiers :

  • Actions et obligations
  • Produits dérivés
  • ETFs
  • Fonds communs de placement
  • Produits structurés

Cela devrait être plus que suffisant pour l’immense majorité des investisseurs. En outre, pour les actions et les ETF, vous aurez accès à de nombreuses places boursières :

  • Bourse suisse (SWX)
  • Euronext
  • Francfort
  • Xetra
  • Bourse de Londres (LSE)
  • NYSE
  • NASDAQ

Donc, encore une fois, nous devrions avoir plus qu’assez de bourses pour investir.

En revanche, vous ne pouvez pas vendre des actions à découvert ou obtenir des prêts Lombard sur votre compte. Vous ne devriez donc pas utiliser PostFinance si vous prévoyez d’utiliser un effet de levier pour vos investissements.

Il y a quelques conditions pour ouvrir un compte de trading chez PostFinance :

  • Tout d’abord, vous devez être client de PostFinance, ce qui signifie que vous devez disposer d’un compte bancaire.
  • Vous devez être un résident suisse âgé d’au moins 18 ans.
  • Vous ne pouvez investir que pour vous-même.
  • Vous ne pouvez pas être un citoyen américain.

Je pense qu’il est assez contraignant d’être obligé d’utiliser un compte bancaire PostFinance pour utiliser un compte E-Trading PostFinance.

Il est important de noter que la plateforme e-trading de PostFinance est basée sur la plateforme Swissquote.

Globalement, vous disposerez de tous les instruments nécessaires pour investir en bourse avec PostFinance Etrading. Cependant, ils vous forcent à utiliser leurs comptes bancaires également. Mais, la plupart des banques suisses font de même. Ainsi, si vous souhaitez effectuer des transactions avec une banque suisse, vous devez utiliser ses comptes bancaires.

Il est important de noter que PostFinance dispose de plusieurs plateformes pour investir. La plateforme E-Trading permet d’investir par soi-même. Mais ils ont aussi des services de conseil : E-Asset management, Fund Consulting, Investment Consulting, et Fund Self-Service. Ces services sont très et incroyablement coûteux. Je ne les passerai pas en revue en détail, mais je ne les recommanderais pas.

Frais de PostFinance

À long terme, vous devez réduire vos frais. Les frais d’investissement sont extrêmement importants. Par conséquent, nous devons examiner les frais de PostFinance. Vous ne devez pas négliger cet aspect.

Tout d’abord, nous pouvons jeter un coup d’œil sur les frais de garde. Avec PostFinance, vous payez 90 CHF de droits de garde par an. Cependant, ils vous sont rendus sous forme de crédits d’honoraires. Ainsi, si vous dépensez plus de 90 CHF en frais de transaction en un an, c’est comme si vous n’aviez pas payé de droits de garde. C’est une bonne chose car, pour la plupart des courtiers, vous ne pouvez pas récupérer les frais de garde.

Nous devons également nous rappeler que les comptes de base de PostFinance ne sont pas gratuits. Donc, à moins que vous n’ayez beaucoup d’argent sur votre compte, vous pouvez vous attendre à payer au moins 5 CHF par mois pour votre compte PostFinance, en plus des droits de garde.

Pour chacune des bourses qu’elle prend en charge, PostFinance applique des frais différents en fonction de la taille de l’ordre. Par exemple, voici les tarifs des principales bourses dont vous pourriez avoir besoin :

Taille de la commande
SIX Bourse suisse
Francfort, Xetra, Euronext
Bourse de Londres
NYSE, NASDAQ
0 – 1000
15 CHF
25 EUROS
25 GBP
25 USD
1001 – 5000
25 CHF
35 EUROS
35 GBP
35 USD
5001 – 10000
35 CHF
40 EUROS
40 GBP
40 USD
10001 – 15000
50 CHF
50 EUROS
50 GBP
50 USD
15001 – 20000
70 CHF
70 EUROS
70 GBP
70 USD
20001 – 30000
CHF 95
95 EUROS
95 GBP
95 USD
30001 – 50000
130 CHF
130 EUR
130 GBP
130 USD
50000 – 100000
180 CHF
180 EUR
180 GBP
180 USD
100000 – 150000
270 CHF
270 EUR
270 GBP
270 USD
De 150’001
350 CHF
350 EUROS
350 GBP
350 USD

Pour les petites exploitations, les frais sont relativement faibles. Cependant, si l’on considère la valeur relative, elles sont assez importantes. Prenons l’exemple de la Bourse suisse. Pour une commande de 1000 CHF, vous payez 1,5% de frais ! En revanche, un ordre de 10’000 CHF ne vous coûtera que 0,35% de frais. Et un ordre de 100’000 vous coûtera 0,27% de frais. Ce n’est pas génial, mais pour les grandes opérations, ce n’est pas si mal.

Si vous souhaitez obtenir les détails pour d’autres bourses, vous pouvez consulter les frais de courtage de PostFinance.

Si vous achetez des actions dans d’autres devises, vous devrez payer 1,2 % de frais de conversion de devises. Il s’agit d’une redevance très élevée. Cela fait de PostFinance e-trading une mauvaise option pour négocier autre chose que le CHF.

PostFinance étant un courtier suisse, vous devez payer le droit de timbre suisse. Vous paierez 0,075% sur chaque transaction de titres suisses et 0,15% sur chaque transaction de titres étrangers. La seule façon de renoncer à ces frais est d’utiliser un courtier étranger.

En outre, si vous effectuez beaucoup d’opérations, vous pouvez récupérer de l’argent grâce aux frais :

  • De la 10ème à la 19ème transaction, vous pouvez récupérer 10% des frais.
  • De la 20ème à la 29ème transaction, vous pouvez récupérer 20% des frais.

Mais compte tenu du prix élevé des opérations, vous ne devriez certainement pas effectuer plus d’une opération par mois sur votre compte E-trading de PostFinance. Je ne pense donc pas que ce programme de bonus ait un sens pour la plupart des investisseurs.

Si l’on compare avec d’autres courtiers suisses, PostFinance est dans la moyenne, ni génial, ni trop mauvais.

Dans l’ensemble, les frais de PostFinance e-trading ne sont pas très élevés. Ce n’est pas la pire option disponible en Suisse, mais il y a aussi des options nettement meilleures.

Ouverture d’un compte chez PostFinance

Comme indiqué précédemment, si vous souhaitez effectuer des transactions avec PostFinance, vous devez ouvrir un compte complet avec accès à e-finance. Ainsi, ouvrir un compte pour négocier avec PostFinance signifie ouvrir un compte bancaire avec des moyens et obtenir un accès à e-finance. Ce n’est qu’après cela que vous pourrez demander un compte e-trading.

Cela rend la procédure d’ouverture d’un compte de courtier chez PostFinance très peu pratique.

Négocier avec PostFinance

Vous pouvez effectuer des transactions avec PostFinance de l’une des trois manières suivantes :

  • Extrait du site web de l’e-trading en ligne
  • Depuis l’application mobile PostFinance
  • Depuis l’application de bureau PosFinance

Il devrait donc y avoir suffisamment d’options pour satisfaire tout le monde.

Malheureusement, je n’ai pas été en mesure de trouver une vidéo de l’application en pratique. PostFinance ne propose que des vidéos publicitaires qui ne montrent rien de l’application. D’après ce que j’ai lu de certains utilisateurs, il est vraiment simple à utiliser. Mais vous ne devez pas vous attendre à en tirer quelque chose d’avancé.

Est-ce sûr ?

Si vous envisagez d’investir de l’argent avec un courtier, vous devez vous assurer qu’il est sûr avant de commencer.

PostFinance dispose d’une licence bancaire en Suisse. Donc, c’est une banque suisse officielle. En tant que telles, elles sont réglementées par la FINMA. Et vos avoirs seront déposés directement auprès d’eux.

PostFinance a une réputation relativement bonne pour ses services bancaires. Ils comptent un grand nombre d’utilisateurs (environ 2,6 millions en 2020). Il est donc peu probable qu’ils fassent faillite. De plus, comme il s’agit d’une banque agréée, vos avoirs seraient protégés jusqu’à 100 000 CHF en cas de faillite. Et vos titres sont séparés des bilans principaux. En tant que tels, ils devraient être à l’abri en cas de faillite. D’autre part, il est important de noter que PostFinance a perdu des clients ces dernières années. En effet, ils comptaient 2,6 millions de clients en 2016.

En ce qui concerne la sécurité technique, ils ont de bonnes normes. Par exemple, ils appliquent l’authentification à deux facteurs depuis des années maintenant. Je n’ai pas entendu parler de problèmes de sécurité avec les transactions électroniques de PostFinance. Cependant, un petit problème est survenu avec la banque électronique de PostFinance en 2015, où au moins un utilisateur pouvait accéder aux données d’un autre utilisateur. Il a été corrigé depuis et n’était pas lié au commerce électronique, mais il est toujours intéressant de les examiner.

Globalement, investir avec PostFinance devrait être aussi sûr que d’investir avec d’autres courtiers suisses.

PostRéputation financière

Il est bon d’examiner la réputation d’un courtier avant de commencer à utiliser ses services.

J’utilise TrustPilot comme source de confiance pour les avis des utilisateurs. PostFinance sur TrustPilot a une moyenne de 1,3 étoiles avec 198 avis. C’est le pire résultat que j’ai jamais vu. Les évaluations des utilisateurs sont abyssalement mauvaises.

85% des avis donnent 1 étoile à PostFinance (et demandent souvent de donner zéro étoile). Parmi les critiques négatives, on peut trouver les points suivants :

  • Les frais sont trop élevés et augmentent alors que le service ne s’améliore pas.
  • Le service clientèle est médiocre.
  • Les délais d’exécution des transactions bancaires sont lents.
  • La nouvelle version des applications est pire que les versions précédentes.
  • Le nombre de fonctionnalités est réduit avec les nouvelles applications.

Les principaux problèmes concernent la nouvelle application. La plupart des utilisateurs aimaient l’application précédente, tandis qu’ils n’aiment pas la nouvelle application qui n’a pas assez de fonctionnalités et ne fonctionne pas. Cela montre qu’ils ne se sont pas concertés avec les utilisateurs lors du développement de la nouvelle application.

Il y a encore 9 commentaires avec 5 étoiles. Cependant, quatre de ces avis proviennent du même utilisateur, nous devons donc les ignorer. Le reste des critiques est extrêmement vague. Ils disent qu’ils n’ont aucun problème, mais ils ne disent rien de spécifiquement bon sur les services.

Malheureusement, il est impossible de faire la distinction entre PostFinance en tant que banque ou en tant que courtier en ce qui concerne les avis. Mais si la banque PostFinance a une mauvaise réputation, c’est déjà une bonne indication que le commerce électronique de PostFinance aura aussi une mauvaise réputation.

Dans l’ensemble, je conclus que PostFinance a une mauvaise réputation auprès de ses utilisateurs. En tant que tel, je serais prudent quant à son utilisation.

PostFinance Pros

Résumons les avantages de PostFinance:

  • Le commerce est facile
  • Applications mobiles et de bureau
  • Les droits de garde sont comptabilisés dans les frais de transaction
  • Frais relativement faibles pour les commandes importantes
  • Banque et courtier bien établis

PostFinance Cons

Résumons les inconvénients de PostFinance:

  • Frais de transaction très élevés pour les petites opérations
  • Frais de conversion de devises très élevés
  • Vous devez disposer d’un compte bancaire PostFinance pour utiliser PostFinance E-Trading.
  • Mauvaise réputation

Alternatives

Comparons PostFinance avec quelques alternatives. Il existe de nombreux courtiers en Suisse.

Puisque le trading de PostFinance est basé sur Swissquote, nous devons comparer directement avec Swissquote, qui offre également des services de courtage. Dans l’ensemble, Swissquote sera légèrement moins cher, mais pas par une marge très importante.

Mais Swissquote a une meilleure réputation. Et vous aurez accès à un meilleur ensemble de fonctionnalités si vous utilisez directement Swissquote. Donc, si vous voulez un courtier suisse, je recommande Swissquote plutôt que PostFinance trading. Vous pouvez lire ma critique de Swissquote si vous voulez plus d’informations.

Et si un courtier étranger ne vous dérange pas, nous pouvons comparer avec Interactive Brokers. IB est un excellent courtier américain, avec une entité au Royaume-Uni. Les prix sont beaucoup moins élevés que ceux des opérations de PostFinance. Par exemple, sur les ETF américains, IB sera 100 fois moins cher que PF.

Et vous obtiendrez beaucoup plus de fonctionnalités, une meilleure exécution et une meilleure réputation. Je recommande donc d’utiliser IB plutôt que PF. Encore une fois, si vous avez besoin de plus d’informations, je vous ai couvert avec ma revue Interactive Brokers.

Conclusion

Globalement, je pense que PostFinance n’est pas un très bon compte de courtage pour les investisseurs suisses. Le problème principal est lié à l’offre de leur compte bancaire principal. Ainsi, les seuls utilisateurs susceptibles de vouloir utiliser le e-trading de PostFinance sont ceux des paquets bancaires de PostFinance.

Toutefois, les forfaits bancaires de PostFinance ne sont pas les meilleurs en Suisse. Et l’e-trading de PostFinance n’est pas non plus la meilleure offre de courtage en Suisse. Par conséquent, je ne recommande pas d’utiliser PoStFinance pour des services de courtage.

Si vous voulez le meilleur courtier pour les investisseurs suisses, je vous recommande d’utiliser Interactive Brokers. Vous pouvez lire ma critique d’Interactive Brokers si vous voulez plus de détails.

Si vous voulez un courtier suisse, je vous recommande d’utiliser Swissquote. Pour plus d’informations, vous pouvez lire ma critique de Swissquote. Étant donné que la plateforme PostFinance est basée sur Swissquote et que Swissquote est moins cher et meilleur que le e-trading de PostFinance, il est préférable d’utiliser directement Swissquote.

Et vous ? Que pensez-vous de PostFinance en tant que courtier ?

Monsieur The Poor Swiss est l'auteur du blog thepoorswiss.com. En 2017, il s'est rendu compte qu'il était en train de tomber dans le piège de l'inflation de son mode de vie. Il a décidé de diminuer ses dépenses et d'augmenter ses revenus. Ce blog parle de son histoire et de ses trouvailles. En 2019, il épargne plus de 50% de ses revenus. Son but est de devenir financièrement indépendant. Vous pouvez envoyer un message à Monsieur The Poor Swiss.

Laisser un commentaire

Your comment may not appear instantly since it has to go through moderation. Your email address will not be published. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

PostFinance E-Trading Review 2021 – Pros and Cons

Mr. The Poor Swiss | Updated: | Investing
PostFinance E-Trading Review 2021 - Pros and Cons

(Disclosure: Some of the links below may be affiliate links)

PostFinance is a well-known Swiss bank and broker. They are generally considered to be very affordable and very easy to use.

If you want a Swiss broker, should you use PostFinance as a Swiss investor, especially as a passive investor? This is what we are going to find out in this in-depth review.

In this article, we will see what PostFinance offers as a broker, how much it costs, and much more too. By the end of the review, you will know whether PostFinance is a good broker for your investing or not.

I am only going to talk about PostFinance as a broker, not as a bank.

PostFinance E-Trading

PostFinance logo
PostFinance logo

PostFinance is the bank of the Swiss Post. It was founded in 1906 already. They got a banking license in 2013. They are now one of the biggest retail financial institutions in Switzerland.

We are going to focus only on the e-trading part of PostFinance. They have been offering bank accounts for a very long time, but we will not cover that. If you are looking for good bank accounts, read my article about the best banks in Switzerland.

With PostFinance E-Trading, you will have access to many financial instruments:

  • Equities and Bonds
  • Derivatives
  • ETFs
  • Mutual Funds
  • Structured products

This should be more than enough for the immense majority of investors. In addition, for stock and ETFs, you will have access to many stock exchanges:

  • Swiss Stock Exchange (SWX)
  • Euronext
  • Frankfurt
  • Xetra
  • London Stock Exchange (LSE)
  • NYSE
  • NASDAQ

So, again, we should have more than enough stock exchanges for investing.

On the other hand, you cannot short stocks or get Lombard loans on your account. So, you should not use PostFinance if you plan to use any leverage for your investing.

There are a few conditions to open a trading account at PostFinance:

  • First, you need to be a customer of PostFinance, so you will need to have a bank account.
  • You need to be a Swiss resident of at least 18 years old.
  • You can only invest for yourself.
  • You cannot be a U.S. citizen.

I think it is quite limiting to be forced to use a PostFinance bank account to use a PostFinance E-Trading account.

It is important to note that the PostFinance e-trading platform is based on the Swissquote platform.

Overall, you will have all the instruments you need to invest in the stock market with the PostFinance Etrading. However, they are forcing you into their bank accounts as well. But, most Swiss banks do the same. So, if you want to trade with a Swiss bank, you will have to use their bank accounts.

PostFinance Fees

In the long-term, you need to reduce your fees. Investing fees are extremely important. Therefore, we must look at the fees of PostFinance. You should not neglect this.

First, we can take a look at the custody fees. With PostFinance, you will pay 90 CHF in custody fees per year. However, these are given back to you as fee credits. So, if you spend more than 90 CHF in trading fees in one year, it is like you would not have paid any custody fee. This a good thing since, for most brokers, you cannot get back the custody fees.

We also need to keep in mind that PostFinance base accounts are not free. So unless you have a lot of money on your account, you can expect to pay at least 5 CHF per month for your PostFinance account, on top of the custody fees.

For each of the stock exchanges it supports, PostFinance has a different fee based on the order size. For instance, here are the fees for the main stock exchanges you may need:

Order size
SIX Swiss Stock Exchange
Frankfurt, Xetra, Euronext
London Stock Exchange
NYSE, NASDAQ
0 – 1000
CHF 15
 EUR 25
GBP 25
USD 25
1001 – 5000
CHF 25
 EUR 35
 GBP 35
USD 35
5001 – 10000
CHF 35
 EUR 40
GBP 40
USD 40
10001 – 15000
CHF 50
 EUR 50
GBP 50
USD 50
15001 – 20000
CHF 70
 EUR 70
GBP 70
USD 70
20001 – 30000
CHF 95
 EUR 95
GBP 95
USD 95
30001 – 50000
CHF 130
 EUR 130
GBP 130
USD 130
50000 – 100000
CHF 180
 EUR 180
GBP 180
USD 180
100000 – 150000
CHF 270
 EUR 270
GBP 270
USD 270
From 150’001
CHF 350
 EUR 350
GBP 350
USD 350

For small operations, the fees are relatively small. However, when we consider the relative value, they are quite large. Let’s take the Swiss Stock Exchange as an example. For an order of 1000 CHF, you will pay 1.5% in fees! On the other hand, an order of 10’000 CHF will only cost you 0.35% in fees. And an order of 100’000 will cost you 0.27% in fees. This is not great, but for large operations, this is actually not that bad.

If you the details for more stock exchanges, you can check out the brokerage fees from PostFinance.

If you purchase stocks in other currencies, you will have to pay 1.2% in the currency conversion fee. This is a very high fee. This makes PostFinance e-trading a bad option to trade anything that is not in CHF.

Since PostFinance is a Swiss broker, you will need to pay the Swiss Stamp Tax Duty. You will pay 0.075% on each transaction of Swiss securities and 0.15% on each transaction for foreign securities. The only way to waive this fee is to use a foreign broker.

On top of that, if you do a lot of operations, you can get back some money from fees:

  • From the 10th trade to the 19th trade, you can get back 10% of the fees
  • From the 20th trade to the 29th trade, you can get back 20% of the fees

But given the high operation price, you should definitely not do more than one operation per month on your PostFinance E-trading account. So, I do no think this bonus program makes any sense for most investors.

When we compare with other Swiss brokers, PostFinance is average, not great, nor too bad.

Overall, PostFinance e-trading does not have great fees. It is not the worst option available in Switzerland, but there are also some significantly better options.

Opening an account at PostFinance

As mentioned before, if you want to trade with PostFinance, you will need to open a full account with e-finance access. So, opening an account for trading with PostFinance means opening a bank account with means and getting e-finance access. Only after this will you be able to request an e-trading account.

This makes the account opening process for a broker account at PostFinance highly impractical.

Trading with PostFinance

You can trade with PostFinance in one of three ways:

  • From the e-trading online website
  • From the PostFinance mobile app
  • From the PosFinance desktop app

So, there should be enough options to satisfy everybody.

Unfortunately, I have not been able to find a video of the app in practice. PostFinance only has advertisement videos that do not show anything of the app. From what I have read from some users, it is really simple to use. But you should not expect to do anything advanced from it.

Is it safe?

If you plan to invest money with a broker, you should make sure it is safe before you get started.

PostFinance has a banking license in Switzerland. So, they an official Swiss bank. As such, they are regulated by the FINMA. And your assets will be deposited directly with them.

PostFinance has a relatively good reputation for its bank services. They have a large number of users (about 2.6 million in 2020). Therefore, they are unlikely to go bankrupt. Furthermore, since they are a licensed bank, your assets would be protected up to 100’000 CHF if they wank to bankrupt. And your securities are segregated from the main balance sheets. As such, they should be safe in case of bankruptcy. On the other hand, it is important to note that PostFinance has been losing customers these last few years. Indeed, they had 2.6 million customers in 2016.

As for technical security, they have good standards. For example, they have been enforcing second-factor authentication for years now. I have not heard of any security issues with PostFinance e-trading. However, there was a small issue with PostFinance e-banking in 2015, where at least one user could access data from another user. It was fixed since and was not related to e-trading, but it is still interesting to look at these.

Overall, investing with PostFinance should be as safe as investing with other Swiss brokers.

PostFinance reputation

It is good to look at a broker’s reputation before starting to use its services.

I am using TrustPilot as a source of trust for user reviews. PostFinance on TrustPilot has a 1.3-star average with 198 reviews. This is the worst result I have ever seen. The user ratings are abysmally bad.

85% of the reviews give 1 star to PostFinance (and often asked to give zero stars).  Among the negative reviews, we can find the following points:

  • Fees are too high and increasing all the time while service is not improving.
  • Customer service is poor.
  • Execution times of bank transactions are slow.
  • The new version of the applications is worse than the previous versions.
  • The number of features is actually reduced with new applications.

The main issues are with the new application. Most users liked the previous application, while they do not like the new application that does not have enough features and does not work. I think this shows that they did not concert with users when developing the new application.

There are still 9 reviews with 5-star. However, four of these reviews are from the same user, so we should ignore them. The rest of the reviews are extremely vague. They basically say that they have no problem, but they do not say anything specifically good about the services.

Unfortunately, it is not possible to really distinguish between PostFinance as a bank or as a broker when it comes to reviews. But if PostFinance bank has a bad reputation, it is already a good indication that PostFinance e-trading would have a bad reputation as well.

Overall, I would conclude that PostFinance has a very bad reputation among its users. As such, I would be careful about using it.

PostFinance Pros

Let’s summarize the advantages of PostFinance:

  • Trading is easy
  • Mobile and desktop applications
  • Custody fees are counted towards trading fees
  • Relatively low fees for large orders
  • Well-established bank and broker

PostFinance Cons

Let’s summarize the disadvantages of PostFinance:

  • Very high trading fees for small operations
  • Very high currency conversion fee
  • You need to have a PostFinance bank account to use PostFinance E-Trading
  • Poor reputation

Conclusion

Overall, I think PostFinance is not a very good broker account for Swiss investors. The main issue is that this is linked to their main bank account offering. So, the only users that may want to use PostFinance e-trading are the users of PostFinance banking packages.

However, PostFinance banking packages are definitely not the greatest in Switzerland. And PostFinance e-trading itself is not the greatest broker offer in Switzerland either. Therefore, I would not recommend using PoStFinance for brokerage services.

If you want the best broker for Swiss investors, I would recommend using Interactive Brokers. You can read my review of Interactive Brokers if you want more details.

If you want a Swiss broker, I would recommend using Swissquote. For more information, you can read my review of Swissquote. Since the PostFinance platform is based on Swissquote’s and Swissquote is actually cheaper and better than PostFinance e-trading, it is better to use Swissquote directly.

What about you? What do you think about PostFinance as a broker?

Mr. The Poor Swiss is the author behind thepoorswiss.com. In 2017, he realized that he was falling into the trap of lifestyle inflation. He decided to cut on his expenses and increase his income. This blog is relating his story and findings. In 2019, he is saving more than 50% of his income. He made it a goal to reach Financial Independence. You can send Mr. The Poor Swiss a message here.

5 thoughts on “PostFinance E-Trading Review 2021 – Pros and Cons”

  1. Hi there,
    I’ve got a comment not exactly about PostFinance, but still about Swiss brokers.

    I’ve worked out that FlowBank uses another broker called “ExAnte” under the hood (https://exante.eu/).
    Today I noticed one of their job offers says “Connaissances de différentes plateformes de trading, MT4, MT5 et Exante un plus” (https://www.flowbank.com/career, “Junior Trading Platform Engineer”).

    I know ExAnte and they are very good. Almost as cheap as IB, but with higher fees on cash withdrawals (30 EUR fee) and minimum deposit of 10k EUR. Maybe one day I will find an article about them on your website, Mr. Swiss? :)

    1. Hi,

      I remember you already brought that point in my Flow Bank review.
      At this point, I do not plan to review more foreign brokers, I prefer to focus on Swiss brokers. If I go outside of Switzerland too much, I will have to review thousands of brokers. From a quick look, I do not see any advantage of Exante over IB, so I will still focus on IB.

      1. Hello,
        You’re right. Last time I mentioned this as well, but at that point it was only my guess based on the screenshots in FlowBank’s website. Today I found a confirmation as well.

        I see your point regarding the primary focus of this blog and I admit it sounds very reasonable.

        Regards,
        Alojzy

  2. I thought since the trading platform is run by Swissquote then the securities would be deposited with Swissquote and not, as you say in the section about safety, with Postfinance?

    1. Hi Nick,

      I am not entirely sure about that, because I have not found information very clear on PostFinance website.
      However, I have found this article (https://www.postfinance.ch/en/about-us/media/newsroom/press-releases/postfinance-launches-new-e-trading.html) that says:
      On the basis of its licence to operate as a securities dealer granted at the same time as the banking licence in June 2013, PostFinance now acts as a client dealer and custodian bank. Swissquote is responsible for custody account management on behalf of PostFinance.

      For me, the means that all the assets are stored in PostFinance and that Swissquote just manages them.

Leave a Reply

Your comment may not appear instantly since it has to go through moderation. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *