Die besten Finanzdienstleistungen für Ihr Geld!

Laden Sie dieses E-Book herunter und optimieren Sie Ihre Finanzen und sparen Sie Geld, indem Sie die besten in der Schweiz verfügbaren Finanzdienstleistungen nutzen!

Das KOSTENLOSE E-Book herunterladen

Wie eröffnet man ein Konto bei Interactive Brokers unter 2023?

Von Baptiste Wicht | Aktualisiert: | Finanzielle Unabhängigkeit, Investieren

(Offenlegung: Einige der unten aufgeführten Links können Affiliate-Links sein)

Interactive Brokers ist ein ausgezeichneter Broker aus den Vereinigten Staaten. Sie ist bekannt für ihre günstigen Gebühren und ihr einzigartiges Angebot an Anlageprodukten. Es wird zum Beispiel von vielen Finanzbloggern verwendet.

Er ist derzeit der beste Broker, der den Zugang zu US-amerikanischen ETFs ermöglicht. Und US ETFs sind die effizientesten ETFs für Schweizer Anleger.

In diesem Leitfaden gehe ich darauf ein, wie man ein Konto bei Interactive Brokers eröffnet. Es ist nicht sehr schwierig, aber es gibt ein paar Dinge, die Sie wissen müssen, bevor Sie mit Ihrer Bewerbung beginnen. Und ich zeige Ihnen auch , wie Sie Ihr Konto optimieren können, um Geld zu sparen!

Interactive Brokers

My top pick
Interactive Brokers
5.0
No custody fees

Everything you need to buy stocks and ETFs, reliably and at extremely affordable prices. Trade U.S. stocks for as little as 0.5 USD!

Pros:
  • Extremely affordable
  • Wide range of investing instruments

Was also ist Interactive Brokers (IB)? IB ist ein Maklerunternehmen aus den Vereinigten Staaten. Sie wurde 1978 in New York gegründet, also vor mehr als 40 Jahren! IB ist das größte Maklerunternehmen in den Vereinigten Staaten und der führende Devisenmakler (Forex). Interactive Brokers bietet Zugang zu vielen Instrumenten wie Aktien, Anleihen, Optionen, Futures und mehr.

Interactive Brokers ist ein sehr bekannter Broker mit einem ausgezeichneten Ruf. Es ist dafür bekannt, dass es im Vergleich zu seinen Konkurrenten billig ist. Ich habe IB und DEGIRO bereits in der Vergangenheit verglichen. Dieser Vergleich hat gezeigt, dass er sogar billiger ist als DEGIRO, der Broker, den ich vorher benutzt habe.

Ein wesentlicher Punkt bei IB ist, dass sie standardmäßig Ihre Aktien nicht an andere Personen verleihen, wie es DEGIRO standardmäßig tut. Aber Sie haben die Wahl, und das ist gut so! Sie können nämlich auch Anteile verleihen und erhalten einen Teil des Geldes aus dem Verleih.

Wenn Sie weitere Informationen über IB wünschen, lesen Sie meinen Bericht über Interactive Brokers.

Warum ein IB-Konto eröffnen?

Warum habe ich also ein IB-Konto eröffnet? Er ist derzeit der beste Broker, der für Schweizer Anleger verfügbar ist.

Es gibt Gründe, Interactive Brokers gegenüber anderen Brokern zu bevorzugen.

  1. Sie bieten Schweizer Anlegern Zugang zu US-amerikanischen ETFs, was bei vielen Brokern nicht der Fall ist.
  2. Sie haben ausgezeichnete Preise.
  3. Sie bieten Zugang zu zahlreichen Anlageinstrumenten.
  4. Sie bieten Devisen zu einem hervorragenden Preis an.

Für die Geschichte hatte ich vorher ein DEGIRO-Brokerkonto. Doch dann wurde der Zugang zu US-amerikanischen börsengehandelten Fonds gekürzt, obwohl dies nicht notwendig war. Und die Kommunikation war dabei miserabel. Ich empfand sie in dieser Angelegenheit als sehr unprofessionell. Also beschloss ich, zu IB zu wechseln, das immer noch diesen Zugang hat und viel professioneller ist.

Schließlich nimmt DEGIRO nur Geld von einem einzigen Bankkonto entgegen. Mit IB können Sie von jedem Bankkonto aus Geld auf Ihr Konto überweisen. Da ich manchmal Geld in USD erhalte, ist es für mich wichtig, USD ohne Kosten zu überweisen.

Und was den USD betrifft, so ist IB bei der Umrechnung zwischen Währungen viel günstiger als DEGIRO. Langfristig werde ich also mit IB viel Geld sparen.

Schauen wir uns also an , wie man ein Konto bei IB erstellen kann.

Erstellen Sie ein Konto bei Interactive Brokers

Bereiten Sie zunächst etwas Zeit für sich selbst vor. Der Prozess der Kontoeröffnung bei Interactive Brokers ist nicht schwierig, aber es wird einige Zeit dauern. Sie müssen ein paar Fragen beantworten und einen Tag warten, bis Ihr Konto aufgeladen ist.

Interactive Brokers hat mehrere Niederlassungen in Europa. Die primäre Einheit ist IB UK, aber eine ist in Luxemburg und eine in Irland, zum Beispiel. Für Schweizer Anleger ist IB UK am besten geeignet, da sie Zugang zu einer Schweizer IBAN und Zugang zu US ETFs bieten. Für europäische Anleger macht das keinen großen Unterschied.

Zunächst können Sie die Seite zur Kontoerstellung aufrufen und auf „Konto eröffnen“ klicken.

Eröffnen Sie ein Konto bei Interactive Brokers
Eröffnen Sie ein Konto bei Interactive Brokers

Auf der ersten Seite müssen Sie Ihre E-Mail-Adresse, Ihren Benutzernamen und Ihr Passwort für das Konto eingeben. Achten Sie darauf, dass Sie ein gutes Passwort und einen guten Benutzernamen wählen.

Füllen Sie Ihr Interactive Brokers-Konto auf
Füllen Sie Ihr Interactive Brokers-Konto auf

Ich würde empfehlen, dass Ihr Passwort mindestens 20 Zeichen lang ist. Ein langes Passwort ist wichtig, um Ihre Online-Konten zu sichern! Achten Sie darauf, dass Sie es sich auch richtig merken!

Sie müssen auch Ihr Wohnsitzland angeben. Wenn Ihr rechtmäßiger Wohnsitz von diesem Land abweicht, müssen Sie auch dieses angeben. Sie können dann die erste Seite bestätigen.

Daraufhin erhalten Sie eine E-Mail zur Bestätigung Ihrer E-Mail-Adresse. Überprüfen Sie einfach Ihre E-Mail und wählen Sie, ob Sie die Bewerbung fortsetzen möchten.

Persönliche Informationen

Auf der zweiten Seite müssen Sie Ihren Kontotyp festlegen. Ich habe es für meine Bedürfnisse individualisiert. Sie können die Arten von Konten prüfen, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie das Ihren Bedürfnissen entsprechende Konto auswählen. Die meisten Menschen werden jedoch ein Einzelkonto wünschen.

Dann müssen Sie die allgemeinen persönlichen Daten eingeben. Hier gibt es nichts Besonderes, nur das, was Sie auf jeder Website einzugeben gewohnt sind. Sie müssen auch Ihre Adressen einstellen.

Seien Sie sich bewusst, dass es wichtig ist, die Daten korrekt einzutragen, da sie am Ende für Ihre Steuern relevant sein werden. Außerdem müssen Sie eine gültige Telefonnummer angeben. IB verwendet diese Telefonnummer zur Authentifizierung, also achten Sie auch hier darauf, dass Sie sie korrekt eingeben.

IB hat mehrere Arten von Konten. Sie müssen den gewünschten Kontotyp auswählen. Die wichtigste Art von Konto ist das Geldkonto. Ein Geldkonto ist die Kontoart, die Sie wahrscheinlich brauchen. Das bedeutet, dass Sie das Geld vor jedem Handel zur Verfügung haben müssen.

Es gibt auch Margin-Konten (IB hat einige gute Informationen über Margin-Konten). Marge bedeutet, dass Sie mit Geld, das Sie nicht haben, eine Hebelwirkung für Investitionen nutzen können. Wenn Sie nicht wissen, was Sie tun, empfehle ich Ihnen, ein Barkonto zu eröffnen.

Eine weitere Sache, die Sie konfigurieren müssen, wenn Sie ein IB-Konto erstellen, ist die Basiswährung Ihres Kontos. Ich bezahle die meisten meiner Zahlungen in Schweizer Franken (CHF) und ich lebe in der Schweiz. Deshalb habe ich mich für CHF als Basiswährung entschieden.

Sie können jederzeit Geld von Ihrer Basiswährung in jede andere Währung umtauschen. Die Basiswährung ist nur für die Anzeige in der Schnittstelle von Bedeutung. Wenn Sie sich für CHF entscheiden, können Sie immer noch USD überweisen und z. B. Aktien in EUR kaufen.

Wenn Sie CHF überweisen, weist IB Sie auf den negativen Zinssatz für CHF-Guthaben hin. Derzeit gibt es nur auf Guthaben über 50’000 CHF einen Negativzins. Den aktuellen Negativzins und das Limit können Sie hier abrufen.

Jetzt müssen Sie auch drei Sicherheitsfragen einrichten. Sie werden diese Fragen benötigen, wenn Sie Ihr Konto wiederherstellen müssen. Achten Sie darauf, dass Sie Fragen wählen, bei denen die Antwort nicht mehrdeutig (aber auch nicht leicht zu finden) ist! Auch dieses Verfahren ist ein Standardverfahren.

Fragen zu Investitionen

Danach müssen Sie Fragen zu Ihren Finanzen beantworten.

Sie müssen angeben, wie hoch Ihr Nettowert ist und wie viel Einkommen Sie haben. Sie müssen auch angeben, welche Ziele Sie mit Ihren Investitionen verfolgen. Sie können zum Beispiel in einen Kapitalzuwachs oder in ein festes Einkommen investieren wollen.

Alle diese Informationen sind aus rechtlichen Gründen hier zu finden. Ich würde Ihnen raten, diese Fragen ehrlich zu beantworten.

Sie müssen auch festlegen, in welche Instrumente Sie investieren wollen. Wenn Sie zum Beispiel in Aktien und Anleihen investieren möchten, müssen Sie diese Optionen auswählen. Ich habe nur Aktien gewählt.

Es gibt viele weitere Optionen wie Aktien, Anleihen, Optionen und Futures. Sie müssen auch das Land (die Börse) auswählen, in das Sie investieren möchten.

Außerdem müssen Sie Ihre Telefonnummer mit einem Code bestätigen.

Bestätigungen

An diesem Punkt müssen Sie allen Regeln, die IB für den Handel aufstellt, zustimmen. Idealerweise sollten Sie sie lesen. Aber das werden Sie wahrscheinlich nicht!

Wenn Sie möchten, können Sie auch am Stock Yield Enhancement Program teilnehmen. Dieses Programm ermöglicht es IB, Ihre Aktien an andere Personen zu verleihen. Damit erhalten Sie die Hälfte des Gewinns.

Das birgt natürlich ein gewisses Risiko, und es kann auch sein, dass Sie Ihre Anteile nicht verkaufen können, wenn Sie es wollen oder müssen. Ich verwende diese Funktion jetzt nicht. Aber ich habe diese Funktion kürzlich getestet, und sie funktioniert gut.

An dieser Stelle wird Interactive Brokers einen Nachweis über Ihre Identität verlangen. Hierfür können Sie einen Führerschein, einen Personalausweis, einen Reisepass oder einen Ausländerausweis hochladen, damit IB Ihre Identität bestätigen kann. Auf der gleichen Seite müssen Sie auch Angaben zu Ihrem Steuerstatus machen.

Sie müssen auch Angaben zu Ihrem Arbeitgeber und Ihrer Tätigkeit machen. In der Regel müssen Sie auch einen Adressnachweis vorlegen.

Einzahlung auf Ihr IBKR-Konto

IB wird Ihr Konto vollständig aktivieren, sobald sie die Finanzierung erhalten haben.

Sie müssen den ersten Geldbetrag einzahlen, damit IB Ihr Konto validieren kann. Zunächst müssen Sie angeben, wie viel Geld Sie einzahlen werden. Dann wird IB Ihnen alle für die Zahlung erforderlichen Informationen geben.

Achten Sie darauf, dass Sie die IBAN korrekt kopieren. Bei Bankgeschäften sollten Sie immer alle Bankdaten überprüfen, bevor Sie eine Überweisung tätigen. Da sie ein Bankkonto in der Schweiz haben, wird die Überweisung kostenlos sein!

Und vergessen Sie nicht, die Zeile „Weiterer Nutzen für XXX“ einzufügen! Andernfalls wird das Geld nicht direkt auf Ihr Konto überwiesen, und Sie müssen sich mit dem Unternehmen in Verbindung setzen, um das Problem zu lösen. Sie müssen dies für alle zukünftigen Einzahlungen auf Ihr Interactive Brokers-Konto tun.

Schließen Sie Ihr Konto ab

Nachdem Sie auf Ihr Konto eingezahlt haben, können Sie noch ein paar Dinge tun.

Zunächst einmal können Sie die Marktdaten konfigurieren. Sie sollten Ihren Marktdatenstatus auf nicht-professionell setzen. Und Sie sollten überprüfen, dass Sie keine Marktdaten kaufen. Sofern Sie nicht vorhaben, Daytrading zu betreiben, benötigen Sie diese Daten nicht. Sie wollen nicht dafür bezahlen.

Eine tolle Sache ist, dass Sie zwei Faktoren verwenden müssen. Sie haben keine Wahl. Sie müssen Ihr Mobiltelefon so konfigurieren, dass es als Zwei-Faktor-Authentifizierung (2FA) verwendet werden kann.

2FA ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der Online-Sicherheit. Zuerst müssen Sie IBRK Mobile auf Ihrem Handy installieren. Diese Anwendung ist für Android und iOS verfügbar.

Sobald Sie die Anwendung installiert haben, können Sie die Anwendung als Zwei-Faktor-Lösung für Ihr Konto registrieren. Sie müssen sich mit Ihrem Benutzer und Passwort anmelden. Sie müssen den Code eingeben, den Sie per SMS erhalten haben.

Schließlich können Sie eine PIN für die zukünftige Zwei-Faktor-Authentifizierung wählen. Merken Sie sich diese PIN, da Sie sie für jede Verbindung zu Interactive Brokers verwenden müssen.

Wenn Sie nicht wissen, was 2FA ist und warum es notwendig ist, lesen Sie meinen Artikel über persönliche Online-Finanzen und Sicherheit.

Warten Sie auf Ihr Konto

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt müssen Sie nur noch darauf warten, dass IB Ihr Konto erstellt und auffüllt.

Es sollte nicht zu lange dauern. Bei mir hat es nur einen Tag gedauert, bis mein Konto eingerichtet und finanziert war. Es ist ziemlich schnell. Am nächsten Tag konnte ich direkt mein erstes Geschäft abschließen.

Optimieren Sie Ihr IBKR-Konto

Da Sie nun Zugang zu Ihrem Konto haben, müssen Sie noch zwei Dinge in Ihrem Konto erledigen.

Als Erstes muss nun das Preissystem konfiguriert werden. Ich empfehle Ihnen, das gestaffelte Preissystem zu verwenden. IB ist billiger als DEGIRO, wenn Sie das gestaffelte Preissystem verwenden.

Sie können die Änderung in Ihren Kontoeinstellungen vornehmen. Wenn Sie die berechenbarere Festpreisvariante bevorzugen, können Sie sich auch für diese entscheiden. Es gibt einige Fälle, in denen feste Preise billiger sind als gestaffelte Preise.

Hier sind meine Einstellungen, bevor ich die Preisstaffelung eingeführt habe:

Interactive Brokers Kontoeinstellungen
Interactive Brokers Kontoeinstellungen

Das zweite gilt, wenn Sie als Schweizer Anleger in US-amerikanische ETFs investieren wollen. In diesem Fall müssen Sie das Formular W8-BEN ausfüllen. Das ist ziemlich einfach. Sie können die Einstellungen Ihres Kontos aufrufen. Dann müssen Sie auf die blaue Schaltfläche (i) neben Ihrem Namen unter Profile klicken. Dann können Sie auf „Steuerformulare aktualisieren“ klicken.

Sie werden dann zur Bearbeitung weitergeleitet, und Sie können das Steuerformular W8-BEN ausfüllen. Mit diesem Formular halbieren Sie den Dividendeneinbehalt für Ihre amerikanischen Aktien und ETFs. Dieser Schritt ist unerlässlich, wenn Sie von der großen Steuereffizienz der amerikanischen ETFs profitieren wollen.

Einige Leute haben mir berichtet, dass es manchmal etwa einen Tag dauert, bis die Kontowährung auf der Schnittstelle geändert wird. Sie müssen nur einen Tag warten, dann sollte das Problem verschwinden. In der Zwischenzeit können Sie einige Zahlen in anderen Währungen sehen (wahrscheinlich GBP).

Eine weitere Möglichkeit ist, dass Sie der IB erlauben, Ihre Aktien zu verleihen. Auf diese Weise erhalten Sie 50 % des Gewinns. Diese Funktion wird als Stock Yield Enhancement Program bezeichnet. Allerdings gibt es einige Risiken. Ich habe es in den letzten Jahren immer wieder ausprobiert, aber es liegt wirklich an Ihnen, ob Sie es für lohnenswert halten.

Schlussfolgerung

My top pick
Interactive Brokers
5.0
No custody fees

Everything you need to buy stocks and ETFs, reliably and at extremely affordable prices. Trade U.S. stocks for as little as 0.5 USD!

Pros:
  • Extremely affordable
  • Wide range of investing instruments

Das Verfahren ist nun abgeschlossen! Wenn Sie dieser Anleitung gefolgt sind, haben Sie jetzt ein Konto bei Interactive Brokers.

Mit diesem großartigen Broker haben wir Zugang zu börsengehandelten US-Fonds wie VT, die den größten Teil meines Portfolios ausmachen.

Ich benutze IB nun schon seit mehr als zwei Jahren. Und ich bin sehr zufrieden mit IB. Interactive Brokers ist der beste Broker, den es für Schweizer Anleger gibt.

Der nächste Schritt ist nun der Kauf eines ETF bei Interactive Brokers. Es ist auch relativ einfach und nimmt nur wenig Zeit in Anspruch.

Was halten Sie von Interactive Brokers? Haben Sie bereits ein Konto? Wenn nicht, welchen Makler benutzen Sie?

Die besten Finanzdienstleistungen für Ihr Geld!

Laden Sie dieses E-Book herunter und optimieren Sie Ihre Finanzen und sparen Sie Geld, indem Sie die besten in der Schweiz verfügbaren Finanzdienstleistungen nutzen!

Das KOSTENLOSE E-Book herunterladen

Baptiste Wicht gründete thepoorswiss.com im Jahr 2017. Er erkannte, dass er in die Falle der Lifestyle-Inflation tappte. Er beschloss, seine Ausgaben zu senken und sein Einkommen zu erhöhen. In diesem Blog geht es um seine Geschichte und seine Erkenntnisse. Im Jahr 2019 spart er mehr als 50 % seines Einkommens. Er hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, finanziell unabhängig zu werden. Sie können Herrn The Poor Swiss hier eine Nachricht schicken.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Your comment may not appear instantly since it has to go through moderation. Your email address will not be published. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

How to Open an Interactive Brokers Account in 2022?

By Baptiste Wicht | Updated: | Financial Independence, Investing

(Disclosure: Some of the links below may be affiliate links)

Interactive Brokers is an excellent broker from the United States. It is known for its cheap fees and its unique range of offered investment products. It is being used by many personal finance bloggers, for instance.

It is currently the best broker that allows access to U.S. ETFs. And U.S. ETFs are the most efficient ETFs for Swiss investors.

In this guide, I go over how to open an Interactive Brokers account. It is not very difficult, but there are a few things you need to know before you start your application. And I also teach you how to optimize your account to save money!

Interactive Brokers

My top pick
Interactive Brokers
5.0
No custody fees

Everything you need to buy stocks and ETFs, reliably and at extremely affordable prices. Trade U.S. stocks for as little as 0.5 USD!

Pros:
  • Extremely affordable
  • Wide range of investing instruments

So what is Interactive Brokers (IB)? IB is a brokerage firm from the United States. It was created in 1978 in New York, more than 40 years ago! IB is the largest brokerage firm in the United States and the leading foreign exchange (forex) broker. Interactive Brokers offers access to many instruments such as stocks, bonds, options, futures, and more.

Interactive Brokers is a very well-known broker with an excellent reputation. It is known to be cheap compared to its competitors. I have already compared IB and DEGIRO in the past. This comparison showed that it is even less expensive than DEGIRO, the broker I was using before.

An essential thing with IB is that, by default, they do not lend your shares to other people, such as DEGIRO does by default. But, you have the choice, which is good! Indeed, you also can lend shares, and you will get some of the money from the lending.

If you want more information on IB, read my review of Interactive Brokers.

Why open an IB account?

So, why did I open an IB account? It is currently the best broker available to Swiss investors.

There are reasons to prefer Interactive Brokers over other brokers.

  1. They offer access to U.S. ETFs to Swiss investors, while many brokers are not.
  2. They have excellent prices.
  3. They offer access to many investing instruments.
  4. They offer foreign exchanges at an excellent price.

For the story, I had a DEGIRO broker account before. But then, they cut access to U.S. ETFs even though it was unnecessary. And they had abysmal communication in the process. I found them to be very unprofessional in that matter. So I decided to switch to IB, which still has this access and is much more professional.

Finally, DEGIRO only accepts money from a single bank account. With IB, you can transfer money to your account from any bank account. Since I sometimes receive money in USD, this is important for me to transfer USD without costs.

And talking about USD, IB is much cheaper than DEGIRO at converting between currencies. So, I will save much money with IB in the long term.

So, let’s see how one can create an account on IB.

Create an Interactive Brokers account

First, prepare some time in front of you. The account creation process on Interactive Brokers is not difficult, but it will take some time. You will need to answer a few questions, and you will need to wait a day for your account to be funded.

Interactive Brokers has several entities in Europe. The primary entity is IB UK, but one is in Luxembourg, and one is in Ireland, for instance. For Swiss investors, the best entity is IB UK because they offer access to a Swiss IBAN and give you access to US ETFs. For European investors, it does not make much of a difference.

First, you can go to the account creation page and click “Open account”.

Start opening an Interactive Brokers account
Start opening an Interactive Brokers account

On the first page, you will need to enter your email, user name, and password for the account. Make sure to choose a good password and user name.

Start filling up your Interactive Brokers account
Start filling up your Interactive Brokers account

I would recommend making your password at least 20 characters long. A long password is essential to secure your online accounts! Make sure to remember it correctly as well!

You also need to enter your country of residence. If your country of legal residence differs, you must also enter it. You can then confirm the first page.

At this point, they will send you an email to confirm your email address. Just check your mail and choose to continue the application.

Personal information

On the second page, you will have to set your account type. I put it to Individual for my needs. You can check the kinds of accounts to make sure you choose the one according to your needs. But most people will want an Individual account.

Then, you will have to enter the general kind of personal information. There is nothing special here, only the thing you are used to entering on each website. You will have to set your addresses as well.

Be aware that since this will be related to your taxes in the end, it is essential to enter them correctly. You will also need to enter a valid phone number. IB will use this phone number authentication, so once again, be sure to enter it correctly.

IB has several types of accounts. You will need to select the account type you want. The primary type of account is a Cash account. A cash account is the account type you probably need. It means you need to have the money before each trade.

There are also Margin accounts (IB has some good information about margin accounts). Margin means you can use leverage for investing with money you do not have. Unless you know what you are doing, I recommend going for a Cash account.

Another thing you need to configure when you create an IB account is the base currency of your account. I make most of my payments in Swiss Francs (CHF), and I live in Switzerland. Therefore I went with CHF as my base currency.

You can always convert money from your base currency to any other currency. The base currency only matters for the display in the interface. If you choose CHF, you can still transfer USD and buy shares in EUR, for instance.

If you transfer CHF, IB will warn you about the negative interest rate on CHF balances. Currently, there is a negative interest only on balances higher than 50’000 CHF. You can get the actual negative interest rate and limit here.

Now, you will also have to set up three security questions. You will need these questions if you ever need to recover your account. Make sure you choose questions from which the answer is not ambiguous (but not easy to find)! This procedure is, once again, a standard procedure.

Investment Questions

After this, you need to answer questions about your finances.

You need to tell how much your net worth is and how much income you have. You also need to say what your objectives are for your investments. For instance, you may want to invest in appreciation of capital or for fixed income.

All this information is here for regulatory reasons. I would advise you to answer them with honesty.

You also need to set which instruments you need to invest in. For instance, if you want to invest and Stocks and Bonds, you need to select these options. I only chose stocks.

There are many more options like Stocks, Bonds, Options, and Futures. You also must select which country (stock market exchange) you want to invest in.

You also need to confirm your phone number with a code.

Confirmations

At this point, you will have to agree to all the rules IB has for trading. Ideally, you may want to read them. But you probably will not!

If you want, you can also join the Stock Yield Enhancement Program. This program will allow IB to lend your shares to other people. With that, you will receive half of the profits.

Of course, there is a slight risk to that, and you may also be unable to sell your shares when you want or need to. I am not using that feature now. But I have tested this feature recently, and it works well.

At this point, Interactive Brokers will want proof of your identification. For this, you can upload a driving license, an ID card, a passport, or an alien ID card for IB to confirm your identity. On the same page, you will also have to enter information about your tax status.

You will also have to fill in information about your employer and job. Usually, you also need to submit something as proof of address.

Fund your IBKR account

IB will fully activate your account once they receive funding.

You need to deposit the first amount of money for IB to validate your account. First, you need to declare how much money you will deposit. Then, IB will give you all the information necessary for the payment.

Make sure you correctly copy the IBAN. With banking transactions, you should always double-check all banking information before you do a transfer. Since they have a bank account in Switzerland, the transfer will be free!

And do not forget to include the “Further Benefit to XXX” line! Otherwise, the money will not directly go to your account, and you will have to contact them to fix the issue. You must do that for all future deposits to your Interactive Brokers account.

Finalize your account

After you have funded your account, you can still do a few more things.

First of all, you can configure the market data. You should set your market data status to non-professional. And you should check that you are not buying any market data. Unless you plan to day trade, you do not need any of this data. You do not want to pay for it.

One great thing is that you have to use two-factor. You have no choice. You must configure your mobile phone to use it as Two-Factor Authentication (2FA).

2FA is an essential part of online security. First, you need to install IBRK Mobile on your phone. This application is available for Android and iOS.

Once you have installed the application, you can register the application as a two-factor for your account. You will have to log in with your user and password. You need to enter the code you received by SMS.

Finally, you can then choose a PIN for your future two-factor authentication. Remember that PIN since you will have to use it for each connection to Interactive Brokers.

If you do not know about 2FA and why it is necessary, read my article about online personal finance and security.

Wait for your account

At this point, you only need to wait for IB to create and fund your account.

It should not take too long. For me, it only took one day for my account to be created and funded. It is pretty fast. The next day, I could directly make my first trade.

Optimize your IBKR account

Now that you have access to your account, there are two more things to finalize in your account.

The first thing remaining at this point is configuring the Pricing System. I recommend you use the Tiered Pricing system. IB is cheaper than DEGIRO when you use the Tiered Pricing system. You can make the change in your Account Settings. If you prefer the more predictable Fixed Pricing, you can also opt for it.

Here are my settings just before I made the change to Tiered pricing:

Interactive Brokers Account Settings
Interactive Brokers Account Settings

The second thing applies if you are a Swiss investor and will invest in U.S. ETFs. In that case, you need to fill out the W8-BEN form. That is pretty simple. You can go into your Account Settings. Then, you need to click the (i) blue button next to your name below Profiles. Then, you can click on “Update Tax Forms”.

They will then take you to the process, and you can fill out the W8-BEN tax form. This form will halve the dividend withholding from your American stocks and ETFs. This step is essential if you want to profit from the great tax efficiency of U.S. ETFs.

Some people have told me that it sometimes takes about one day for the account currency to be changed on the interface. You have to wait one day, and the issue should disappear. In the meantime, you may see some numbers in other currencies (likely GBP).

Another thing you can choose to do is to allow IB to lend your shares. By doing so, you will get 50% of the profits. This feature is called the Stock Yield Enhancement Program. However, there are some risks. I have tried it on and off over the last few years, but it is really up to you whether you think it is worth it.

Conclusion

My top pick
Interactive Brokers
5.0
No custody fees

Everything you need to buy stocks and ETFs, reliably and at extremely affordable prices. Trade U.S. stocks for as little as 0.5 USD!

Pros:
  • Extremely affordable
  • Wide range of investing instruments

The procedure is now complete! If you followed this guide, you now have an Interactive Brokers account.

With this great broker, we have access to U.S. Exchange Traded Funds such as VT, which makes the most significant part of my portfolio.

I have now been using IB for more than two years. And I am delighted with IB. Interactive Brokers is the best broker available to Swiss investors.

The next step is now to buy an ETF from Interactive Brokers. It is also relatively simple and only takes a little time.

What do you think about Interactive Brokers? Do you already have an account? If not, which broker are you using?

Baptiste Wicht is the author behind thepoorswiss.com. In 2017, he realized that he was falling into the trap of lifestyle inflation. He decided to cut on his expenses and increase his income. This blog is relating his story and findings. In 2019, he is saving more than 50% of his income. He made it a goal to reach Financial Independence. You can send Mr. The Poor Swiss a message here.

274 thoughts on “How to Open an Interactive Brokers Account in 2022?”

  1. Hi Baptiste! Thanks for this super useful blog, I am using it step by step and now have a question.
    Do you know if I can give my AVS number as a TIN number when giving my tax information. Or what is the TIN number in Switzerland? I am also given the option to select that I do not have a TIN number, could that be the case?

    Many thanks and kind regards,
    Max

  2. Hi Baptiste!
    Thank you for a nice guide.
    During application process the 1st question they ask is if I would like to trade crypto, which I wish at least to try, and in this case I have to open IB US account which is unusual for Switzerland. What is the difference for me in Switzerland between US and UK accounts? I was struggling to find any information on it, but found nothing relevant. I’m afraid if there are some extra fees or taxes or legal issues if I’m using IB US in Switzerland, so could you please clarify it?

    1. Hi Anton,

      That’s a new question, they have added Crypto recently. Last time I asked them, they were using Paxos for crypto and Paxos was not available for Swiss investors. The confusion is that it’s available to some EU investors and since IB can be used by both, they do not make the distinction very clear.
      So, I would recommend not checking the crypto box and using IB UK instead.

  3. Hi Baptiste,

    First of all thanks for the informative Blog! Its really well written and very much appreciated. I came across this article today as im looking to open an IB account from Germany (UK Expat here ). Couple of questions 1. Do you have a recommended bank to use in Germany? 2. Which IB would i use Ireland, uk, Luxembourg?

    Thanks in advance and keep up the great work!
    Samuel

    1. Hi Sam,

      1) I am afraid I don’t know any German bank :)
      2) I think that since Brexit, IB UK would not work for EU citizens. So, I would personally use IB IE, but there should not be much difference between IE and LU.

      1. Hi Baptiste, so does that mean a resident of Switzerland could still trade on IB UK? Is there a difference in terms of what ETFS we can trade? Also, for tax purposes, should we buy ETFS in usd or chf? Thanks!

        1. Yes, you can still trade on IB UK as a Swiss resident. I am not sure it makes a difference since what matters most is the residence of the investor. But I am not sure you can trade US ETFs on IB IE, for instance.
          For tax purposes, the currency does not matter. What matters is the domicile of the ETF. Generally, US ETFs are the best.

  4. Hi Baptiste
    Do you know if we can create an account in interactivebrokers.com or we need to create an account under the country we live such as interactivebrokers.co.uk or interactive brokers.fr

    1. Hi Francesco,

      You cannot transfer it to Switzerland. IB has no entity in Switzerland. Swiss investors are generally with the IB UK entity. Are you with the IB IE entity? I believe you can ask support to get moved or at least to know how it works.

  5. Is it also possible to open an Interactive Broker account from Neon Bank?

    I say this, because Neon Bank is a really good frontend over Hypothekarbank Lenzburg.
    I ask this, because there were restrictions in the past to open a DeGiro account with similar set-ups like Transferwise or Revolut.

    1. I am not sure I understand your question.

      Neon is a real bank account with a personal IBAN, so you won’t’ have any of the problems encountered with Wise and Revolut where you don’t have a personal CH account.

Leave a Reply

Your comment may not appear instantly since it has to go through moderation. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *