Les meilleurs services financiers pour votre argent!

Téléchargez cet e-book et optimisez vos finances et économisez de l'argent en utilisant les meilleurs services financiers disponibles en Suisse!

Télécharger l'e-book GRATUIT

CornerTrader Review 2023 – Günstigster Schweizer Broker

Von Baptiste Wicht | Aktualisiert: | Investieren

(Offenlegung: Einige der unten aufgeführten Links können Affiliate-Links sein)

CornerTrader ist einer der ältesten Schweizer Broker. Es ist ein interessanter Broker, der behauptet, sehr erschwinglich zu sein, insbesondere im Vergleich zu anderen Schweizer Brokern.

Ist CornerTrader (CT) also für einen Schweizer Anleger geeignet, insbesondere für einen passiven Anleger? Wir werden diese Frage in diesem ausführlichen Bericht beantworten. Wir werden sehen, was CornerTrader ist, was man damit machen kann, wie viel es kostet und vieles mehr!

Am Ende dieses Berichts werden Sie wissen, ob CornerTrader ein guter Broker für Ihre Investitionen ist!

CornerTrader

CornerTrader-Logo
CornerTrader-Logo

CornerTrader ist Teil der Corner Group. Die Corner Group ist ein privates Schweizer Bankinstitut, das 1879 gegründet wurde. Im Mittelpunkt steht nun die Corner Bank, die Bank der Gruppe. Die Corner Bank wurde bereits im Jahr 1952 gegründet. CornerTrader selbst wurde offiziell im Jahr 2012 eingeführt.

Die Corner Group ist auch in mehreren anderen Ländern tätig. Aber in dieser Rezension werde ich mich nur auf seine Handelsdienstleistungen in der Schweiz über den CornerTrader Broker konzentrieren.

Corner Bank hat eine Schweizer Banklizenz und wird von der FINMA reguliert. CornerTrader nutzt die Corner Bank als Depotbank. Die Corner Bank hat in der Schweiz einen guten Ruf.

Zum Zeitpunkt der Erstellung dieses Artikels hat CornerTrader mehr als 10’000 Benutzer. Im Vergleich zu einigen größeren Brokern ist dies eine relativ kleine Zahl, aber sie haben dennoch einen treuen Nutzerstamm. Sie bieten Zugang zu Aktien, Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs), Optionen, Contracts For Difference (CFDs) und weiteren Anlageinstrumenten. CornerTrader hat Zugang zu 22 Börsenplätzen in der Welt. Wenn Sie also wie ich ein passiver Anleger sind, haben sie mehr als genug Instrumente.

So, jetzt können wir tiefer in das eintauchen, was CornerTrader als Broker bietet.

CornerTrader Kontotypen

CornerTrader bietet vier verschiedene Kontotypen an:

  1. Privat. Das Standard-Handelskonto.
  2. Kapital. Das Handelskonto für große Portfolios.
  3. Pro. Das Handelskonto für professionelle Anleger.
  4. VIP. Das Handelskonto für sehr große Portfolios.

Die Konten Pro und VIP haben sehr hohe Anforderungen an das Handelsvolumen. Sie sind also für uns nicht zu erreichen. Wir müssen uns also auf die ersten beiden Konten konzentrieren. Capital ist deutlich billiger als Private, erfordert aber ein Guthaben von mehr als 75’000 CHF auf Ihrem Konto. Sie können mit „Privat“ beginnen, und sobald Sie diese Grenze erreicht haben, werden Sie zu „Kapital“ befördert.

In diesem Beitrag werde ich auf die Einzelheiten der beiden Kontotypen Privat- und Kapitalkonto eingehen, da sie beide nützlich sind. Und abgesehen von den Gebühren haben sie die gleichen Merkmale.

CornerTrader-Gebühren

Langfristig müssen Sie Ihre Gebühren senken. Anlagegebühren sind extrem wichtig. Deshalb müssen wir uns die Gebühren für die Broker-Konten bei CornerTrader ansehen.

Eine großartige Sache über CornerTrader ist, dass sie keine Verwahrungsgebühren haben. Keine Depotgebühr bedeutet, dass Sie für ein Konto nichts bezahlen müssen. Die meisten Schweizer Broker haben Depotgebühren, daher ist es hervorragend, dass CornerTrader keine hat.

Auf der anderen Seite hat CornerTrader eine Inaktivitätsgebühr. Wenn Sie während eines Quartals nicht investieren, müssen Sie eine Inaktivitätsgebühr von 35 CHF bezahlen. Ich denke nicht, dass dies ein Problem ist, da die meisten Anleger mindestens eine Investition pro Quartal tätigen. Ich empfehle, während der Aufbauphase monatlich zu investieren und während des Ruhestands einmal im Monat Geld zu entnehmen.

Für den Handel sind die Gebühren für jede Börse, an der Sie ein Aktiengeschäft tätigen, unterschiedlich.

Erfreulicherweise ist das Preissystem überschaubar und viel einfacher als bei anderen Schweizer Brokern. Außerdem fallen bei börsengehandelten Fonds (ETFs) die gleichen Gebühren an wie bei Aktien. Das macht es noch einfacher, die Gebühren von CornerTrader zu studieren.

Hier also die Gebühren für einige wichtige Börsenplätze mit einem Privatkonto:

  • Schweizer Börse (SWX): 0,20% bei einem Mindestbetrag von 20 CHF
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0,25% bei einem Mindestbetrag von 25 EUR
  • Londoner Börse (LSE): 0,25% mit einem Mindestbetrag von 20 GBP
  • NASDAQ: 4 Cents pro Aktie bei einem Mindestbetrag von 25 USD
  • New York Stock Exchange (NYSE): 4 Cents pro Aktie bei einem Mindestbetrag von 25 USD

Und hier sind die Gebühren für die gleichen Börsengeschäfte mit dem Capital-Konto:

  • Schweizer Börse (SWX): 0,12% bei einem Mindestbetrag von 18 CHF
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0,20% bei einem Mindestbetrag von 20 EUR
  • London Stock Exchange (LSE): 0,12% bei einem Mindestbetrag von 18 GBP
  • NASDAQ: 3 Cents pro Aktie bei einem Mindestbetrag von 12 USD
  • New York Stock Exchange (NYSE): 2 Cents pro Aktie bei einem Mindestbetrag von 12 USD

Diese Gebühren sind nicht billig. Aufgrund der hohen Mindestbeträge sind sie für kleine Transaktionen nicht geeignet. Wenn Sie zum Beispiel 1000 CHF an der Schweizer Börse kaufen, zahlen Sie 20 CHF, also 2 % Gebühr! Nur wenn Sie für 10’000 CHF kaufen, erreichen Sie das Minimum. Ich würde also nicht empfehlen, CornerTrader zu benutzen, wenn Sie viele kleine Transaktionen durchführen.

Für große Transaktionen ist CornerTrader im Vergleich zu anderen Schweizer Brokern erschwinglich. Was die Schweizer Broker angeht, ist CornerTrader eine gute Wahl, was die Preise angeht.

Wenn Sie in anderen Währungen als CHF investieren, müssen Sie auch die Währungsumrechnungsgebühr bezahlen. Bei CornerTrader zahlen Sie 0,5 % von jeder Währungsumrechnung. Wenn Sie Aktien für 5000 USD in CHF kaufen, zahlen Sie eine Umrechnungsgebühr von 25 USD. Und Sie müssen diese Gebühr bezahlen, wenn Sie Ihre Anteile verkaufen. Sie sollten diese Gebühr nicht vernachlässigen, da sie relativ hoch ist. Im Laufe der Zeit kann sich dies zu einer Menge von Gebühren summieren.

Aber CornerTrader ist der Schweizer Broker mit der niedrigsten Umrechnungsgebühr! Ich sage nicht, dass sie billig ist, denn das ist sie nicht. Aber was die Schweizer Broker betrifft, so ist dies das Beste, was Sie bekommen können.

Nicht zu vergessen ist die schweizerische Stempelsteuergebühr. Da CornerTrader ein Schweizer Broker ist, müssen Sie diese Steuer auf jede Börsenoperation zahlen. Diese Gebühr beträgt 0,075% für Schweizer Aktien und 0,15% für ausländische Aktien. Diese Gebühr ist für jeden Schweizer Makler gleich hoch.

Insgesamt ist CornerTrader nicht billig. Die Gebühren für kleine Transaktionen sind hoch. Aber wenn wir ihn nur mit anderen Schweizer Brokern vergleichen, ist er einer der günstigsten. CornerTrader ist besonders günstig für Währungsumrechnungen und Gebühren für große Transaktionen.

Eröffnung eines Kontos bei CornerTrader

Sehen wir uns an, wie wir ein CornerTrader-Konto eröffnen können.

Sie können ein Konto vollständig online eröffnen. Die Eröffnung eines Kontos dauert weniger als 10 Minuten. Bevor Sie jedoch in den Aktienmarkt investieren können, muss Ihr Konto anhand der Dokumente, die Sie während des Einführungsprozesses eingereicht haben, validiert werden. Es kann also Tage dauern, bis das Konto vollständig zugänglich ist. In der Zwischenzeit können Sie sich die Plattformen weiterhin ansehen.

Abgesehen von diesem Punkt gibt es keine Besonderheiten bei der Kontoeröffnung. CornerTrader wird Ihnen alle üblichen Fragen stellen:

  • Ihre persönlichen Daten
  • Ihr Wissen und Ihre Erfahrung mit Investitionen
  • Nachweis von Adresse und Identität

Es gibt keinen Mindestbetrag für die Eröffnung eines Kontos bei CornerTrader. Sie können also mit sehr wenig Geld in den Handel einsteigen. Aber wie bereits erwähnt, sollten Sie bei den hohen Mindestbeträgen für Handelsgeschäfte sehr vorsichtig sein. Die Durchführung kleinerer Operationen mit CornerTrader kann schnell sehr teuer werden.

Insgesamt ist die Eröffnung eines Kontos also sehr einfach. Mit CornerTrader könnte der Prozess jedoch beschleunigt werden.

Handeln mit CornerTrader

CornerTrader bietet drei Plattformen an, über die Sie investieren können:

  • Investieren: Eine einfache Plattform für Investoren.
  • Flexibilität: Eine etwas fortschrittlichere Plattform für Anleger, die viel unterwegs sind.
  • Fortgeschrittene: Die Plattform für fortgeschrittene Anleger. Sie können zum Beispiel bis zu 6 Monitore verwenden, um Ihren Freunden zu zeigen, was Sie drauf haben.

Wenn Sie also ein passiver Anleger sind, bietet Ihnen die Invest-Plattform alle Funktionen, die Sie jemals brauchen werden. Die ersten beiden Plattformen können Sie auf Desktops, Telefonen und Tablets nutzen. Sie können die Advance-Plattform nur auf einem Desktop-Computer verwenden.

Diese Optionen sind ziemlich gut. Es ist hervorragend, die Plattformen nach den einzelnen Investitionsstufen zu trennen. Auf diese Weise gehen einfache Anleger nicht in einem Meer von Funktionen unter, die sie nicht benötigen. 99 % der Anleger werden nur die Invest-Plattform benötigen.

Die Invest-Handelsplattform von CornerTrader (Quelle: CornerTrader)
Die Invest-Handelsplattform von CornerTrader (Quelle: CornerTrader)

Ist es sicher?

Wenn Sie einen erheblichen Geldbetrag bei einem Makler anlegen, müssen Sie dafür sorgen, dass er sicher ist.

CornerBank wird in der Schweiz von der FINMA reguliert. Ihre anderen Unternehmen werden auch in anderen Ländern reguliert. Da Ihr Vermögen bei der Corner Bank hinterlegt ist, wird Ihr Vermögen reguliert.

CornerBank ist eine etablierte Bank mit einem guten Ruf. Ich würde sagen, dass die Chancen, dass sie in Konkurs geht, gering sind. Dennoch ist es gut zu wissen, was passiert, wenn ein Makler in Konkurs geht. Die Einlagensicherung schützt Ihr Bargeld bis zu 100’000 CHF. Ihre Wertpapiere sollten auf Ihren Namen bei der Corner Bank hinterlegt werden und sicher sein.

Zur technischen Sicherheit können Sie den zweiten Authentifizierungsfaktor für Ihr Konto aktivieren. Ich empfehle Ihnen dringend, dies zu tun. Sie sollte standardmäßig aktiviert sein. Viele Leute haben mir gesagt, dass es schwierig zu konfigurieren ist.

Ich habe noch nie von einem Sicherheitsleck oder einer Sicherheitslücke bei CornerTrader gehört.

Eine Investition bei CornerTrader ist also genauso sicher wie bei anderen Schweizer Brokern.

CornerTrader Reputation

Es ist wichtig, den Ruf eines Brokers zu prüfen, bevor man ihn für Investitionen in den Aktienmarkt nutzt.

Als Quelle für Bewertungen verwende ich in der Regel TrustPilot. Leider gibt es keine Bewertungen von CornerTrader auf TrustPilot. Aber ich habe 25 Bewertungen auf Google gefunden, mit einer durchschnittlichen Bewertung von 2,5 Sternen. Diese Punktzahl ist ein schlechtes Ergebnis, aber angesichts der geringen Anzahl von Bewertungen ist sie möglicherweise nicht sehr genau.

Was die negativen Bewertungen angeht, so lassen sich die meisten in zwei Kategorien einteilen:

  • Schlechte Kommunikation bei der Einführung der Inaktivitätsgebühren im Jahr 2019. CornerTrader hat diese Gebühr eingeführt, ohne den Kunden genügend Zeit zur Vorbereitung zu geben. Und da die Schließung eines Kontos nicht kostenlos ist, waren viele Kunden unzufrieden.
  • Sehr lange Kontoerstellungszeit. Da das Konto manuell validiert werden muss, nimmt dies viel Zeit in Anspruch. In unserem Zeitalter sind die Menschen daran gewöhnt, ein Konto innerhalb von Minuten, nicht Tagen, zu erstellen und zu nutzen,

Da die meisten Probleme bei der Kontoerstellung auftreten, mache ich mir keine Sorgen, da dies nur einmal passiert. Der Ruf von CornerTrader hat jedoch einen Schlag erlitten, als sie ihre Inaktivitätsgebühren mit schlechter Kommunikation einführten.

Andererseits konzentrieren sich die positiven Bewertungen auf zwei verschiedene Kategorien:

  • Guter Kundenservice. Das liest man selten, das ist also interessant.
  • Einfache Investition. Dies ist ein guter Punkt für einfache passive Anleger.

Ich habe auch einige Rückmeldungen von meinen Lesern erhalten, die nicht besonders gut waren. Die meisten Personen, die CornerTrader genutzt haben, sind damit nicht zufrieden. Sie werden es als billig im doppelten Sinne des Wortes bezeichnen. Wir sollten also vorsichtig mit diesem Dienst sein.

Insgesamt sind die Bewertungen der Nutzer von CornerTrader sehr unterschiedlich. Es gibt viele Nutzerbewertungen zu beiden Extremen (Liebe und Hass).

Alternativen

Es ist wichtig, eine Finanzdienstleistung mit einigen anderen Alternativen zu vergleichen.

CornerTrader vs. Interactive Brokers

My top pick
Interactive Brokers
5.0
No custody fees

Everything you need to buy stocks and ETFs, reliably and at extremely affordable prices. Trade U.S. stocks for as little as 0.5 USD!

Pros:
  • Extremely affordable
  • Wide range of investing instruments

Es ist wichtig zu erwähnen, dass ich CornerTrader nicht verwende. Warum ist das so? Sobald Sie sich bei internationalen Maklern umsehen, werden Sie viel günstigere und bessere Alternativen finden. Für meine Investitionen habe ich mich für Interactive Brokers entschieden. Vergleichen wir also die beiden Plattformen.

Interactive Brokers ist ein viel größerer Broker, der viel mehr Kunden hat und besser etabliert ist. Beide sind angemessen geregelt und geschützt.

Bei beiden Brokern fallen keine Depotgebühren an! Der Hauptunterschied zwischen diesen beiden Brokern besteht im Vergleich der Handelsgebühren.

Selbst an der Schweizer Börse ist Interactive Brokers günstiger (10 CHF gegenüber 20 CHF). Der Hauptunterschied liegt jedoch in der amerikanischen Börse. Wenn ich zum Beispiel Microsoft-Aktien im Wert von 10’000 USD kaufe, zahle ich bei IB etwa 0,40 USD. Bei CornerTrader würde mich das mit dem günstigeren Capital-Konto 12 USD kosten. In diesem Beispiel ist IB 30 Mal billiger als CornerTrader!

Schließlich kostet der Währungsumtausch bei IB etwa 2 USD, während er bei CT 0,5 % kostet. Wenn Sie also nicht weniger als 400 USD umrechnen, ist IB viel besser im Umrechnen von Geld.

Da IB ein ausländischer Broker ist, zahlen Sie außerdem keine Schweizer Stempelsteuer. Mit IB sparen Sie 0,075% auf jede Schweizer Operation und 0,15% auf jede ausländische Operation.

Insgesamt hat das IB für mich zu viele Vorteile, als dass ich darauf verzichten könnte. Durch die Nutzung von IB spare ich jedes Jahr eine Menge Geld. Der einzige Vorteil von CT gegenüber Interactive Brokers ist, dass es sich um einen Schweizer Broker handelt und Ihr Geld in der Schweiz liegt.

CornerTrader vs. Swissquote

Bester Schweizer Broker
Swissquote
4.5

Alles, was Sie brauchen, um in den Aktienmarkt zu investieren! Eröffnen Sie ein Konto bei Swissquote und erhalten Sie 100 CHF an Handelsguthaben mit meinem Code MKT_THEPOORSWISS.

Pros:
  • Schweizer Broker
  • Einfach zu bedienen
Der Code MKT_THEPOORSWISS ist nur für Personen mit Wohnsitz in der Schweiz gültig.

Ein weiterer bekannter Schweizer Broker ist Swissquote. Lassen Sie uns also schnell CornerTrader und Swissquote vergleichen.

Diese beiden Broker sind sehr ähnlich in Bezug auf die Funktionen und sind beide Schweizer Broker.

Insgesamt ist CornerTrader günstiger als Swissquote:

  • SQ hat einige Verwahrungsgebühren, während CornerTrader keine hat.
  • SQ hat 0,95% Währungsumrechnungsgebühren, während CT 0,50% hat.

Was die Handelsgebühren betrifft, so hängt es davon ab, womit Sie handeln. Sie sind sich ziemlich ähnlich, sind aber in verschiedenen Bereichen billiger. Aber in den meisten Fällen ist die CT billiger.

Auf der anderen Seite ist SQ in der Schweiz etablierter und hat viel mehr Nutzer. Und sie haben auch einen guten Ruf. Ich vertraue SQ bei der Ausführung mehr als CT. Aber beachten Sie, dass ich zur Zeit keines von beiden verwende.

Wenn ich einen Schweizer Makler beauftragen würde, dann nur aus Gründen der Sicherheit. Ich denke also, dass Swissquote dieses Ziel besser erreichen würde als CornerTrader. Wie immer müssen Sie selbst entscheiden, wie Sie das Verhältnis zwischen Preis und Ansehen einschätzen.

Wenn Sie weitere Informationen wünschen, können Sie meine Bewertung von Swissquote lesen.

FAQ

Ist CornerTrader reguliert?

Ja, CornerBank wird in der Schweiz von der FINMA reguliert.

Hat CornerTrader Verwahrungsgebühren?

Nein, Corner Trader erhebt keine Verwahrungsgebühren.

CornerTrader Zusammenfassung

CornerTrader ist einer der günstigsten Schweizer Broker. Sie bieten viele Anlageinstrumente zu einem fairen Preis an.

Pruduktmarke: CornerTrader

Bewertung des Redakteurs:
3.49

CornerTrader Pros

Lassen Sie uns die wichtigsten Vorteile von CornerTrader zusammenfassen:

  • Keine Verwahrungsgebühren
  • Gut eingeführter Makler
  • Relativ gute Handelsgebühren für große Transaktionen
  • Die beste Währungsumrechnungsgebühr unter den Schweizer Brokern

CornerTrader Cons

Lassen Sie uns die wichtigsten Nachteile von CornerTrader zusammenfassen:

  • Eine kleine Anzahl von Nutzern
  • Gemischter Ruf
  • Inaktivitätsgebühr, wenn Sie nicht eine Investition pro Quartal tätigen
  • Teure Handelsgebühren für kleine Transaktionen
  • Es kann einige Tage dauern, bis ein Konto eröffnet ist.
  • Die Kommunikation kann verbessert werden

Schlussfolgerung

Insgesamt ist CornerTrader ein günstiger Schweizer Broker. Sie bieten Zugang zu zahlreichen Anlageinstrumenten an zahlreichen Börsen. Preislich sind sie im Vergleich zu anderen Schweizer Brokern sehr gut aufgestellt.

Wenn Sie auf der Suche nach einem Schweizer Broker sind, ist CornerTrader ein guter Kandidat. Nun müssen Sie auf den Preis für kleine Transaktionen achten. Sie können bei diesem Makler kostspielig sein. Außerdem haben sie im Vergleich zu einigen anderen Brokern relativ wenige Nutzer. Manche Menschen möchten daher vielleicht einen besser etablierten Makler beauftragen. Schließlich sind die Bewertungen dieses Brokers sehr viel gemischt, mit vielen unzufriedenen Nutzern. Es ist also etwas, das man berücksichtigen sollte.

Empfehle ich CornerTrader nun Schweizer Anlegern? Nicht wirklich. Im Vergleich zu internationalen Brokern ist CornerTrader viel teurer (eine Größenordnung). Deshalb empfehle ich Interactive Brokers nach wie vor als den besten Broker für Schweizer Anleger. Wenn Sie jedoch nur Schweizer Broker in Betracht ziehen wollen, ist CornerTrader ein guter Broker.

Wenn Sie an Schweizer Brokern interessiert sind, habe ich die besten Schweizer Broker verglichen. Dieser Vergleich soll Ihnen die Wahl erleichtern, aber Sie müssen die Kostenunterschiede zwischen Schweizer und ausländischen Brokern kennen. Die einzige andere gute Schweizer Broker-Alternative ist Swissquote. Für weitere Informationen lesen Sie bitte meinen Bericht über Swissquote.

Was ist mit Ihnen? Was halten Sie von CornerTrader?

Les meilleurs services financiers pour votre argent!

Téléchargez cet e-book et optimisez vos finances et économisez de l'argent en utilisant les meilleurs services financiers disponibles en Suisse!

Télécharger l'e-book GRATUIT

Baptiste Wicht gründete thepoorswiss.com im Jahr 2017. Er erkannte, dass er in die Falle der Lifestyle-Inflation tappte. Er beschloss, seine Ausgaben zu senken und sein Einkommen zu erhöhen. In diesem Blog geht es um seine Geschichte und seine Erkenntnisse. Im Jahr 2019 spart er mehr als 50 % seines Einkommens. Er hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, finanziell unabhängig zu werden. Sie können Herrn The Poor Swiss hier eine Nachricht schicken.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Your comment may not appear instantly since it has to go through moderation. Your email address will not be published. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

CornerTrader Review 2021 – Cheapest Swiss broker

Mr. The Poor Swiss | Updated: | Investing
CornerTrader Review 2021 - Cheapest of the Swiss brokers

(Disclosure: Some of the links below may be affiliate links)

CornerTrader is one of the oldest Swiss brokers. It is an interesting broker that claims to be very affordable, especially compared to other Swiss brokers.

So, is CornerTrader (CT) any good for a Swiss investor, especially a passive investor? This is what I am going to find out in this in-depth review. We will see what CornerTrader is, what you can do with it, how much it costs, and much more too!

By the end of this review, you will know whether CornerTrader is a good broker for your investing or not!

CornerTrader

CornerTrader logo
CornerTrader logo

CornerTrader is part of Corner Group. Corner Group is a private Swiss banking institution founded in 1879. It is now centered around Corner Bank, the bank of the group. Corner Bank was already established in 1952. CornerTrader itself was officially launched in 2012.

Corner Group also has business in several other countries. But in this review, I will only focus on its trading services in Switzerland via the CornerTrader broker.

Corner Bank has a Swiss banking license and is regulated by FINMA. CornerTrader uses Corner Bank as its custodian bank. Corner Bank has a good reputation in Switzerland.

At the time of this writing, CornerTrader has more than 10’000 users. This is a relatively small number compared to some larger brokers, but they still have a loyal user base. They offer access to stocks, Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs), options, Contracts For Difference (CFDs), and more investing instruments. CornerTrader has access to 22 stock exchanges in the world. So, if you are a simple passive investor, like me, they have more than enough instruments.

So, now, we can delve deeper into what CornerTrader offers as a broker.

CornerTrader Account Types

CornerTrader has four different accounts types:

  1. Private. The default trading account.
  2. Capital. The trading account for large portfolios.
  3. Pro. The trading account for professional traders.
  4. VIP. The trading account for very large portfolios.

The Pro and VIP accounts have very high trading volume requirements. So, they are not possible to achieve for us. So, we need to focus on the first two accounts. Capital is significantly cheaper than Private but requires having more than 75’000 CHF in your account. You can start with Private, and then once you reach this limit, you will be promoted to Capital.

In this review, I will go over the details of both the Private and Capital account types since they are both useful. And except for the fees, they have the same features.

CornerTrader Fees

In the long-term, you need to reduce your fees. Investing fees are extremely important. Therefore, we must look at the fees of the broker accounts at CornerTrader.

One great thing about CornerTrader is that they have no custody fees. This means you will not pay anything to have an account. This is great since most Swiss brokers have custody fees.

On the other hand, CornerTrader has an inactivity fee. If you do not trade during one quarter, you will have to pay a 35 CHF inactivity fee. I do not think this is an issue since most investors make at least one trade per quarter. I recommend investing every month during the accumulation phase and withdrawing once a month during retirement.

For trading, the fees are different for each stock exchange on which you are doing an operation.

Fortunately, the pricing system is straightforward, much simpler than other Swiss brokers. Also, Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs) have the same fees as stocks. This makes it even simpler to study the fees of CornerTrader.

So, here are the fees for some important stock exchanges with the Private account:

  • Swiss Stock Exchange (SWX): 0.20% with a minimum of 20 CHF
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.25% with a minimum of 25 EUR
  • London Stock Exchange (LSE): 0.25% with a minimum of 20 GBP
  • NASDAQ: 4 cents per share with a minimum of 25 USD
  • New York Stock Exchange (NYSE): 4 cents per share with a minimum of 25 USD

And here are the fees for the same exchanges with the Capital account:

  • Swiss Stock Exchange (SWX): 0.12% with a minimum of 18 CHF
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.20% with a minimum of 20 EUR
  • London Stock Exchange (LSE): 0.12% with a minimum of 18 GBP
  • NASDAQ: 3 cents per share with a minimum of 12 USD
  • New York Stock Exchange (NYSE): 2 cents per share with a minimum of 12 USD

These fees are not cheap. Given the large minimums, they are really not suited for small transactions. For instance, if you buy 1000 CHF on the Swiss Stock Exchange, you will pay 20 CHF, a 2% fee! Only if you buy for 10’000 CHF will you reach the minimum. So, I would not recommend using CornerTrader if you are going to do many small transactions.

For large transactions, CornerTrader is affordable when comparing with other Swiss brokers. Actually, as far as Swiss brokers go, CornerTrader is a good choice in terms of prices.

If you are going to trade in currencies other than CHF, you will also need to pay the currency conversion fee. At CornerTrader, you will pay 0.5% of each currency conversion. If you buy shares for 5000 USD from CHF, you will pay a 25 USD currency conversion fee. And you will have to pay this fee when you sell your shares as well. You should not neglect this fee since it is relatively high. Over time, this can accumulate to be a lot of fees.

But CornerTrader is actually the Swiss broker with the lowest currency conversion fee! I do not say it is cheap because it is not. But as far as Swiss brokers go, this is the best you are going to get.

Finally, let’s not forget the Swiss Stamp Tax Duty fee. Since CornerTrader is a Swiss broker, you will have to pay this tax on each stock market operation. This fee is 0.075% for Swiss shares and 0.15% for foreign shares. This fee is the same for each Swiss broker.

Overall, CornerTrader is not cheap. Its fees for small transactions are really high. But when we compare only with other Swiss brokers, it is one of the cheapest Swiss brokers. This is especially true for currency conversion fees and trading fees on large transactions.

Opening an account at CornerTrader

Let’s see how we can open a CornerTrader account.

You can fully open an account online. Opening an account will take you less than 10 minutes. However, before you can make trades on the stock market, your account will need to be validated based on the documents you have submitted during the onboarding process. So, it may take days before the account is fully accessible. In the meantime, you will still be able to look at the platforms.

Aside from this point, there is really nothing special about the account opening process. They will ask you all the usual questions:

  • Your personal information
  • Your personal investing knowledge and experience
  • Proof of address and identity

There is no minimum for opening an account at CornerTrader. So, you can start trading with very little money. But as mentioned before, be very careful about the high minimums for trading operations. Doing small operations on CornerTrader may quickly become very expensive.

So, overall, the process of opening an account is very straightforward. But they could make the process faster.

Trading with CornerTrader

CornerTrader offers three platforms to trade:

  • Invest: A simple platform for investors.
  •  Flexibility: A slightly more advanced platform for investors that are on the move.
  • Advance: The platform for advanced traders. For instance, you can use up to 6 monitors to show off to your friends.

So, if you are a simple passive investor, the Invest platform will have all the features you will ever need. The first two platforms can be used on desktops, phones, and tablets. The Advance platform can only be used on a desktop computer.

These options are quite good. It is great to separate platforms based on each level of investing. That way, simple investors are not lost in a sea of features they do not need. 99% of investors will only need the Invest platform.

The Invest trading platform from CornerTrader (Source: CornerTrader)
The Invest trading platform from CornerTrader (Source: CornerTrader)

Is it safe?

If you are going to invest a significant amount of money with a broker, you need to make sure it is safe.

CornerBank is regulated in Switzerland by the FINMA. Its other entities are also regulated in other countries. Since your assets are deposited at Corner Bank, your assets are regulated.

Corner Bank is a well-established bank with a good reputation. I would say that the chances of it going bankrupt are slim. Nevertheless, it is good to know what would happen if a broker went bankrupt. Your cash will be protected for up to 100’000 CHF. Your securities should be deposited in your name in Corner Bank and should be safe.

For technical security, you can choose to activate a second factor of authentication for your account. I strongly recommend doing that. In fact, it should be enabled by default. Many people have reported to me that it is complicated to configure.

I have not heard of any security leaks or breaches from CornerTrader.

So, investing with CornerTrader is as safe as investing with other Swiss brokers.

CornerTrader Reputation

It is essential to look at a broker’s reputation before using it to invest in the stock market.

As a source of review, I generally use TrustPilot. Unfortunately, there are no reviews of CornerTrader on TrustPilot. But I found 25 reviews on Google, with an average score of 2.5 stars. This is a bad result, but given the small number of reviews, it may not be very accurate.

On the negative reviews, most of them can be classified into two categories:

  • Poor communication when introducing the inactivity fees in 2019. Apparently, this fee was introduced without enough time for the customers to prepare. And since closing an account is not free, many customers were not satisfied.
  • Very long account creation time. Since the account has to be manually validated, it takes a long time. Given the age we live in, people are used to creating and using an account within minutes, not days.,

Since most of the issues are regarding account creation, I am not too worried since this only happens once. However, the reputation of CornerTrader really took a hit when they introduced their inactivity fees with poor communication.

On the other hand, positive reviews are focused on two different categories:

  • Good customer service. It is rare to read that, so that is interesting.
  • Simple investment. This is a good point for simple passive investors.

I also got some feedback from my readers and it was not great. Most people that have used CornerTrader in the past are not satisfied with it. They will describe it as cheap in both senses of the term. So we may want to be careful about this service.

Overall, user reviews on CornerTrader are very much mixed. There are many user reviews on both extremes (love and hate).

CornerTrader Pros

Let’s summarize the advantages of CornerTrader:

  • No custody fees
  • Well established broker
  • Relatively good trading fees for large transactions
  • The Best currency conversion fee among Swiss brokers

CornerTrader Cons

Let’s summarize the disadvantages of CornerTrader:

  • A small number of users
  • Mixed reputation
  • Inactivity fee if you do not a trade per quarter
  • Expensive trading fees for small transactions
  • It may take a few days to open an account
  • Communication may be improved

CornerTrader vs Interactive Brokers

Best Broker for Swiss Investors
Interactive Brokers

Interactive Brokers is an outstanding broker, with extremely affordable fees! Trade U.S. security for as little as 0.5 USD!

It is important to note that I am not using CornerTrader. Why is that? As soon as you look at international brokers, you will find out much cheaper and better alternatives. For my investing, I decided to go with Interactive Brokers. So, let’s compare both platforms.

Interactive Brokers is a much larger broker, with many more customers and better established. Both are properly regulated and protected.

The main difference between these two brokers is when we compare the fees.

First, CornerTrader has no custody fees. At Interactive Brokers, you will pay 10 CHF per month if you have less than 100K in your account. After this, you will pay no custody fees. So, CornerTrader will be slightly cheaper in custody fees if you have a small account.

But things are much more different in terms of trading fees. Even on the Swiss Stock Exchange, Interactive Brokers is cheaper (10 CHF against 20 CHF). But the main difference lies in the American Stock Exchange. For instance, if I buy 10’000 USD of Microsoft shares, I will pay about 0.40 USD on IB. On CornerTrader, this would cost me 12 USD with the cheaper Capital account. In this example, IB is 30 times cheaper than CornerTrader!

Finally, currency exchange at IB costs about 2 USD while they cost 0.5% at CT. So, unless you are converting less than 400 USD, IB will be much better at converting money.

On top of that, since IB is a foreign broker, you will not pay the Swiss Stamp tax. This means, with IB, you are saving 0.075% on each Swiss operation and 0.15% on each foreign operation.

Overall, for me, IB has too many advantages to pass on. I save a lot of money every year by using IB. The only advantage of CT over Interactive Brokers is that it is a Swiss broker with your money being in Switzerland.

Conclusion

Overall, CornerTrader is a cheap Swiss Broker. They offer access to many investing instruments on many stock exchanges. In terms of prices, they compare very well with other Swiss brokers.

If you are looking for a good Swiss broker, CornerTrader is a good candidate. Now, you have to be careful about the price of small transactions. They can be very expensive with this broker. Also, they have relatively few users compared to some other brokers. So, some people may want to use a better-established broker. Finally, the reviews of this broker are very much mixed, with many dissatisfied users. So, it is something to take into account.

Now, do I recommend CornerTrader to Swiss investors? Not really. Compared to international brokers, CornerTrader is much more expensive (an order of magnitude). Therefore, I still recommend Interactive Brokers as the best broker for Swiss investors. However, if you only want to consider Swiss brokers, CornerTrader is a good broker.

If you are interested in Swiss brokers, I compared the best Swiss brokers. This should help you choose, but you need to know the differences in costs between Swiss and foreign brokers. The only other good Swiss broker alternative is Swissquote. You can read my review of Swissquote for more information.

What about you? What do you think of CornerTrader?

Mr. The Poor Swiss is the author behind thepoorswiss.com. In 2017, he realized that he was falling into the trap of lifestyle inflation. He decided to cut on his expenses and increase his income. This blog is relating his story and findings. In 2019, he is saving more than 50% of his income. He made it a goal to reach Financial Independence. You can send Mr. The Poor Swiss a message here.

4 thoughts on “CornerTrader Review 2021 – Cheapest Swiss broker”

  1. Hi,
    I am currently one of clients of SAXO but considering to change a broker.

    Thanks for a good comparison but frankly speaking, you recon Interactive Brokers is far better than CornerTrader in terms of sorts of fees for long term?

    Do you feel any disadvantages to trade with a broker outside of Swiss?

    1. Hi Yuji,

      Yes, it’s much better than CT in terms of fees. You will save on transaction fees and currency conversion fees.
      I do not feel there is much of a disadvantage. I feel like IB is well regulated. But some people believe there is much more risk due to different regulations.

  2. > Corner Bank has an excellent reputation in Switzerland.

    I would disagree on the “excellent” and would say they have rather a “cheap” reputation. Of course it gets the job done but it’s not really a bank you wanna work with.

    1. Hi,

      I have tried to find reviews or comments about Corner Bank but I have not found any that came with a “cheap” reputation. I have read good things about the reputation. Do you have any source or any personal experience with that?

Leave a Reply

Your comment may not appear instantly since it has to go through moderation. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *