Revue de la carte de crédit Visa Migros Cumulus 2022

Par Baptiste Wicht | Mis à jour: | Économiser, Suisse

(Information: certains des liens ci-dessous peuvent être des liens d'affiliation)

Après avoir mis fin à son partenariat avec Cembra, la Banque Migros a présenté sa nouvelle carte de crédit : La carte de crédit Visa Cumulus.

La carte Cumulus Mastercard de Cembra étant l’une des meilleures cartes de crédit disponibles, nous devons nous pencher sur cette nouvelle carte de crédit Cumulus Visa.

A la fin de cet article, vous saurez si vous devez utiliser cette nouvelle carte de crédit Visa Cumulus de la Banque Migros.

La chute de la carte Cumulus Mastercard

Comme vous le savez peut-être, Cembra émettait jusqu’à récemment la carte Cumulus Mastercard. C’était une excellente carte de crédit, et je l’ai utilisée pendant plusieurs années.

Mais les choses ont changé en mai 2022 lorsque Migros a annoncé la fin de ce partenariat de 15 ans. En effet, Migros a décidé que la Banque Migros émettrait directement une nouvelle carte de crédit Cumulus. L’ancienne carte est toujours valable pour ses utilisateurs, mais de nouvelles cartes ne seront plus émises.

Les utilisateurs ne peuvent donc pas commander davantage de cette excellente carte Cumulus Mastercard. Les utilisateurs doivent savoir quelles cartes ils doivent utiliser. Dans cet article, nous examinons donc la nouvelle option de la carte de crédit Visa Cumulus de la Banque Migros.

Carte de crédit Visa Cumulus

La nouvelle Visa Migros Cumulus
La nouvelle Visa Migros Cumulus

La Banque Migros a commencé à émettre la nouvelle carte de crédit Visa Cumulus en 2022. L’une des différences avec la carte précédente est qu’elle fait désormais partie du réseau Visa et non plus du réseau Mastercard. Mais cela ne devrait faire que peu ou pas de différence pour les utilisateurs.

Cette carte est exempte de toute charge mensuelle ou annuelle. C’est important car la plupart des utilisateurs devraient chercher une carte de crédit gratuite avant de regarder le cashback.

Après le prix, nous examinons le cashback. Le crédit Visa Cumulus offre deux récompenses de cashback :

  • 1% dans les magasins Migros
  • 0,33% dans tous les autres magasins

Ce cashback n’est pas de l’argent liquide. Le cashback est sous forme de points Cumulus. Les points Cumulus sont comme de l’argent liquide, mais vous ne pouvez les utiliser que dans les magasins Migros. A moins que vous ne fassiez jamais d’achats dans les magasins Migros, ces points devraient constituer un bon système.

La première année, vous recevrez 2% de cash back dans les magasins Migros. Même s’il s’agit d’un montant important, il faut être prudent et ne pas l’utiliser comme critère.

En règle générale, je recommande de ne pas utiliser les prestations temporaires comme critère de comparaison entre deux services, car ces prestations sont appelées à disparaître. C’est quand même une excellente chose si vous optez pour cette carte. Mais ne choisissez pas cette carte uniquement pour cette raison. Les avantages temporaires ne sont là que pour attirer davantage de clients.

Ainsi, à l’exception de la première année, le cashback de la carte de crédit Cumulus Visa est le même que celui de la défunte Cumulus Mastercard.

Les frais

Il est également essentiel de parler des frais de la carte.

Comme indiqué précédemment, la carte ne comporte pas de frais mensuels ou annuels. Toutefois, il existe des frais en fonction de l’utilisation de la carte.

Vous pouvez également obtenir gratuitement une carte supplémentaire, par exemple pour votre conjoint ou partenaire. Cette option est idéale pour partager un compte avec plusieurs cartes.

Si vous ne payez pas le solde de votre carte de crédit en totalité, vous paierez un taux d’intérêt de 9,4 % sur le montant dû. Ces frais ne sont pas trop élevés par rapport à une dette de carte de crédit. Il s’agit toutefois d’un taux d’intérêt considérable.

Vous ne devriez jamais avoir de dettes de carte de crédit si vous êtes sérieux en matière de finances personnelles. Et si c’est le cas, vous devriez d’abord vous attacher à régler ce problème avant d’essayer d’optimiser vos cartes de crédit.

Si vous utilisez cette carte pour retirer de l’argent en Suisse ou à l’étranger, vous paierez des frais de 2,5 % sur le montant du retrait. Les cartes de crédit sont généralement le pire moyen d’obtenir de l’argent liquide en Suisse ou à l’étranger. Vous devez donc également éviter ces frais.

Voici d’autres frais :

  • 2 CHF par relevé papier.
  • 30 CHF si vous payez le solde en totalité mais en retard.
  • 20 CHF si vous avez besoin d’une carte de remplacement.

Tous ces frais sont relativement standards, ni bon marché ni particulièrement chers. Cependant, vous pouvez éviter tous ces frais, ce qui est excellent ! Mais il est bon de les connaître avant de commander cette carte.

Cette carte est unique : elle ne comporte pas de frais de transaction en devises étrangères. La plupart des cartes de crédit ont des frais de change de 1,5 à 2,5 %. Vous paierez des frais élevés si vous les utilisez à l’étranger ou dans une autre devise que le CHF. Il est donc excellent qu’une carte ne comporte enfin aucun frais de change.

Cependant, les transactions en devises étrangères avec cette carte ne sont pas gratuites! En effet, ces transactions passent par le réseau de change de la Banque Migros. Et les conversions via ce réseau comportent une surcharge de 1,5 à 2 % par rapport au taux de change interbancaire. Par conséquent, même si elle est bien meilleure que d’autres cartes de crédit, vous ne devez toujours pas utiliser cette carte de crédit à l’étranger.

Néanmoins, il y a des cas où vous devez payer ces frais. Le moyen de l’éviter est d’utiliser une carte de débit (comme Neon) avec un meilleur taux de change. Cependant, il arrive que les cartes de débit soient refusées, comme pour la réservation d’un hôtel. Dans ces cas, vous devrez utiliser une carte de crédit. Et aucune carte de crédit ne propose le change gratuit de devises étrangères. Une surcharge de 2 % est donc tout à fait acceptable !

Puisque vous pouvez éviter tous les frais, nous pouvons encore considérer la Visa Cumulus Migros comme une carte gratuite!

Les avantages de l’assurance

De nombreuses cartes de crédit sont assorties de certains avantages en matière d’assurance. Passons donc rapidement en revue les avantages de la carte de crédit Visa Cumulus en matière d’assurance.

La carte de crédit Visa Cumulus est assortie de plusieurs assurances différentes :

  1. Protection des prix jusqu’à 2000 CHF
  2. Assurance voyage pour le sauvetage (jusqu’à 60’000 CHF)
  3. Assurance interruption de voyage jusqu’à 4’000 CHF
  4. Protection du compte en ligne jusqu’à 10’000 CHF
  5. Protection juridique sur Internet jusqu’à 10’000 CHF
  6. Protection des achats jusqu’à 2000 CHF

Toutes ces assurances sont offertes gratuitement avec la carte.

Les prestations d’assurance sur les cartes de crédit ne sont pas indispensables. La plupart des gens n’utiliseront aucun de ces avantages. Et si vous voulez être couvert pour certains de ces éléments, vous devriez probablement prendre une assurance complète.

Cela dit, il est toujours bon de bénéficier d’une assurance si vous utilisez cette carte. Mais je ne m’en servirais pas comme critère pour choisir une carte de crédit.

Cumulus Visa vs Cumulus Mastercard

Étant donné que de nombreuses personnes possèdent la Cembra Cumulus Mastercard, il est essentiel de comparer l’ancienne carte de crédit Cumulus et la nouvelle!

Commençons par les frais. Les frais de base sont les mêmes puisque les deux cartes sont gratuites ! Les frais évitables sont moins élevés sur la Visa Cumulus que lorsque Cembra a émis la carte. Cependant, cela ne devrait pas avoir beaucoup d’importance puisque vous devriez les éviter.

L’un des avantages de la nouvelle Visa Cumulus est qu’elle ne comporte pas de frais de change. Même si vous devez éviter ces frais autant que possible, ils méritent d’être mentionnés. Parfois, il n’est malheureusement pas possible d’éviter ces frais. Dans ce cas, la Visa Cumulus sera bien meilleure que la Mastercard Cumulus.

Il faut aussi comparer le cashback. Cette comparaison n’est pas intéressante puisque les deux cartes ont exactement le même cashback.

En ce qui concerne les prestations d’assurance, la nouvelle Visa Cumulus est assortie d’une assurance de protection des prix supplémentaire et de trois prestations d’assurance de protection en ligne. C’est bien si vous changez d’avis de toute façon !

Un léger avantage est que vous recevrez des e-factures avec Migros alors que Cembra ne les propose pas.

Dans l’ensemble, la nouvelle Visa Cumulus de la Banque Migros est légèrement meilleure que la précédente Mastercard Cumulus de Cembra.

Visa Migros Cumulus vs Certo One

Cembra était l’émetteur de la précédente carte Cumulus Mastercard. En réponse à la perte du partenariat, ils ont lancé deux cartes de crédit. La plus intéressante des deux est la Certo One Mastercard World de Cembra. Comparons donc la Visa Migros Cumulus et la Cembra Certo One Mastercard.

Les frais de base des deux cartes sont les mêmes : elles sont toutes deux gratuites. Les frais évitables sont nettement inférieurs à ceux de la Visa Cumulus.

De plus, Certo One est très coûteux à utiliser avec des devises étrangères. La Visa Cumulus de Migros est abordable, mais pas gratuite non plus.

Puisque vous pouvez éviter tous les frais, nous devrions comparer ces cartes uniquement sur la base du cashback. Et c’est là que Certo One est nettement meilleur:

  • Le cashback de Certo est du cash qui est crédité sur votre facture, tandis que vous ne pouvez utiliser les points Cumulus que chez Migros.
  • Le cashback de Certos est de 1% dans trois magasins de votre choix, tandis que Cumulus Visa n’a que 1% de cashback chez Migros. Les deux cartes offrent 0,33% de cashback dans les autres magasins.

Les prestations d’assurance sont légèrement meilleures pour le Migros Cumulus puisque vous bénéficiez d’une protection en ligne supplémentaire pour vos comptes. Cependant, cela suffit à faire tourner l’aiguille, et je choisirais toujours une remise en argent supplémentaire plutôt que des prestations d’assurance que je n’utiliserai probablement pas.

Là encore, Migros propose des e-factures alors que Cembra est encore très en retard à cet égard. C’est donc un léger avantage en faveur de la Visa Migros Cumulus si vous aimez utiliser les factures électroniques.

Ainsi, pour moi, la nouvelle carte de crédit Cumulus Visa n’est pas aussi bonne que la nouvelle Certo One Mastercard World de Cembra.

Si vous voulez plus d’informations, j’ai écrit un article détaillé sur les cartes de crédit Certo One Mastercard.

Migros Cumulus Visa Pros

Résumons les avantages de la Visa Cumulus Migros :

  • 1% de cashback chez Migros
  • 0,33% de cashback dans tous les autres magasins
  • Carte gratuite
  • Carte supplémentaire gratuite
  • Prestations d’assurance supplémentaires
  • Utilisation relativement bon marché à l’étranger
  • Soutien aux factures électroniques

Migros Cumulus Visa Cons

Résumons les inconvénients de la Visa Cumulus Migros :

  • Le cashback ne peut être utilisé que chez Migros.
  • Vous obtenez 1% de cash back uniquement chez Migros

Conclusion

Cette nouvelle carte de crédit Visa Cumulus est intéressante. Il offre le même cashback que son successeur, et les frais sont nettement moins élevés (mais vous pouvez les éviter). Les prestations d’assurance sont également améliorées.

Cependant, ce n’est pas beaucoup mieux qu’avant. Et il y a une forte concurrence de Cembra. La nouvelle carte de crédit Certo One Mastercard World, de Cembra, est supérieure en de nombreux points à la nouvelle carte Visa Cumulus.

J’envisage de passer de la carte Cumulus Mastercard à la nouvelle Certo One Mastercard World de Cembra. Bien qu’il n’y ait rien à redire à la carte Migros, la carte Cembra est supérieure dans son système de cashback, avec un cashback meilleur et plus élevé.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur les cartes de crédit, vous pouvez découvrir ma stratégie en la matière.

Et vous ? Que pensez-vous de cette nouvelle carte de crédit ?

Monsieur The Poor Swiss est l'auteur du blog thepoorswiss.com. En 2017, il s'est rendu compte qu'il était en train de tomber dans le piège de l'inflation de son mode de vie. Il a décidé de diminuer ses dépenses et d'augmenter ses revenus. Ce blog parle de son histoire et de ses trouvailles. En 2019, il épargne plus de 50% de ses revenus. Son but est de devenir financièrement indépendant. Vous pouvez envoyer un message à Monsieur The Poor Swiss.

2 thoughts on “Revue de la carte de crédit Visa Migros Cumulus 2022”

  1. Merci pour cette analyse très intéressante, je suis actuellement aux usa et ai utilisé presque uniquement ma nouvelle Cumulus Visa, en pensant bénéficier de l’absence de frais de commission. Effectivement aucun frais facturés,
    Mais le taux de change est extrêmement défavorable, en moyenne 3% au-dessus de ma Mastercard World qui prélève 1,75%, donc la Cumulus Visa n’offre aucun avantage à l’étranger, bien au contraire!
    Je suis fâché contre cette publicité mensongère de la Migros! Ça frise l’arnaque!

    1. Bonjour Pascal,

      Merci beaucoup d’avoir partagé et désolé pour les frais!
      3% c’est en effet beaucoup. De ce que j’ai pu voir, le réseau Migros Bank coute environ 2% de surchage en moyenne. Mais c’est effectivement très caché. C’est pour ça que cette carte n’est pas plus intéressante qu’une autre pour l’étranger, ils ont juste déplacés les frais…

Laisser un commentaire

Your comment may not appear instantly since it has to go through moderation. Your email address will not be published. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Migros Cumulus Visa Credit Card Review 2022

By Baptiste Wicht | Updated: | Save, Switzerland

(Disclosure: Some of the links below may be affiliate links)

After stopping its partnership with Cembra, Migros Bank introduced its new credit card: The Cumulus Visa credit card.

Since the Cumulus Mastercard from Cembra was one of the best credit cards available, we need to look at this new Cumulus Visa credit card.

By the end of this review, you will know whether you should use this new Cumulus Visa credit card by Migros Bank.

The fall of the Cumulus Mastercard

As you may know, Cembra was issuing the Cumulus Mastercard until recently. It was an excellent credit card, and I have used it for several years.

But things changed in May 2022 when Migros announced the end of this 15-year partnership. Indeed, Migros decided that Migros Bank would issue a new Cumulus credit card directly. The old card is still valid for its users, but new cards will not be issued anymore.

So, users cannot order more of this excellent Cumulus Mastercard. Users need to know what cards they should use. So we look at the new option of the Cumulus Visa credit card, by Migros Bank, in this review.

Cumulus Visa credit card

The new Migros Cumulus Visa
The new Migros Cumulus Visa

Migros Bank started issuing the new Cumulus Visa credit card in 2022. One difference with the previous card was that this is now on the Visa network instead of the Mastercard network. But this should make little to no difference for users.

This card is free of any monthly or annual charge. This is important because most users should look for a free credit card before looking at the cashback.

After the price, we look at the cashback. The Cumulus Visa credit has two cashback rewards:

  • 1% at Migros shops
  • 0.33% at all other shops

This cashback is not cash. The cashback is in the form of Cumulus points. Cumulus points are like cash, but you can only use them at Migros shops. Unless you never shop at Migros shops, these points should be a good system.

You will receive 2% cash back in the first year at Migros shops. Even though this is a large amount, you should be careful about using this as a criterion.

Generally, I recommend not using temporary benefits as criteria for comparing two services since this benefit will go away. It is still a great thing if you opt for this card. But do not choose this card just because of that. Temporary benefits are only there to attract more customers.

So, except for the first year, the cashback of the Cumulus Visa credit card is the same as the cashback of the late Cumulus Mastercard.

The fees

It is also essential to talk about the fees of the card.

As mentioned before, the card has no monthly or yearly fees. However, there are some fees depending on how you use the card.

You can also get an additional card for free, for instance, for your spouse or partner. This is great to share one account with multiple cards.

If you do not pay the credit card balance in full, you will pay a 9.4% interest rate on the amount due. This fee is not too bad as far as credit card debt goes. However, this is still a considerable interest rate.

You should never carry credit card debt if you are serious about personal finance. And if you are, you should focus on fixing that first before trying to optimize your credit cards.

If you use this card to withdraw money in Switzerland or abroad, you will pay a 2.5% fee on the withdrawal amount. Credit cards are usually the worst way to get cash in Switzerland or abroad. So, you should avoid this fee as well.

Here are some other fees:

  • 2 CHF per paper statement.
  • 30 CHF if you pay the balance in full but late.
  • 20 CHF if you need a replacement card.

All these fees are relatively standard, neither cheap nor particularly expensive. However, you can avoid all these fees, which is excellent! But it is good to know about them before ordering this card.

This card is unique: it has no foreign currency transaction fee. Most credit cards have something from 1.5% to 2.5% foreign currency exchange fee. You will pay a hefty fee when you use them abroad or in another currency than CHF. So it is excellent that one card finally has no foreign exchange fee.

However, foreign currency transactions with this card are not free! Indeed, these transactions go through the Migros Bank currency exchange network. And conversions through this network have a surcharge between 1.5% and 2% compared to the interbank exchange rate. So, while this is much better than other credit cards, you should still not use this credit card abroad.

Nevertheless, there are some cases where you have to pay this fee. The way to avoid it is to use a debit card (like Neon) with a better currency exchange rate. However, sometimes debit cards are refused, like reserving a hotel. In these cases, you will have to use a credit card. And no credit card has free foreign currency exchange. So about a 2% surcharge is quite good!

Since you can avoid all the fees, we can still consider the Migros Cumulus Visa a free card!

The insurance benefits

Many credit cards come with some insurance benefits. So, let’s quickly review the insurance benefits of the Cumulus Visa credit card.

The Cumulus Visa credit card comes with several different insurance benefits:

  1. Price protection for up to 2000 CHF
  2. Travel insurance for rescue (up to 60’000 CHF)
  3. Trip interruption insurance for up to 4’000 CHF
  4. Online account protection for up to 10’000 CHF
  5. Internet legal protection for up to 10’000 CHF
  6. Purchase protection for up to 2000 CHF

All these insurance benefits come free of charge with the card.

Insurance benefits on credit cards are not essential. Most people will not use any of these benefits. And if you want to be covered for some of these items, you should probably take full insurance.

That being said, it is still good to have insurance benefits if you use this card. But I would not use this as a criterion for choosing a credit card.

Cumulus Visa vs Cumulus Mastercard

Since many people have the Cembra Cumulus Mastercard, it is essential to compare the previous Cumulus credit card and the new one!

Let’s start with the fees. The base fees are the same since both cards are free! The avoidable fees are lower on the Cumulus Visa than when Cembra issued the card. However, it should not matter much since you should avoid them.

One advantage of the new Cumulus Visa is that there is no foreign exchange fee. Even though you should avoid this fee as much as possible, it is worth mentioning. Sometimes, it is not possible to avoid this fee, unfortunately. In this case, the Cumulus Visa will be much better than the Cumulus Mastercard.

We should also compare the cashback. This comparison is not interesting since both cards have precisely the same cashback.

As for insurance benefits, the new Cumulus Visa comes with extra price protection insurance and three online protection insurance benefits. This is good if you switch anyway!

One slight advantage is that you will get e-bills with Migros while Cembra does not offer them.

Overall, the new Cumulus Visa by Migros Bank is slightly better than the previous Cumulus Mastercard by Cembra.

Migros Cumulus Visa vs Certo One

Cembra was the issuer of the previous Cumulus Mastercard. In response to the loss of the partnership, they started two credit cards. The most interesting of both is the Certo One Mastercard World by Cembra. So, let’s compare the Migros Cumulus Visa and the Cembra Certo One Mastercard.

The base fees of both cards are the same: they are both free. The avoidable fees are significantly lower ton the Cumulus Visa.

Also, Certo One is very expensive to use with foreign currencies. The Migros Cumulus Visa is affordable, although not free either.

Since you can avoid all the fees, we should compare these cards solely based on the cashback. And this is where Certo One is significantly better:

  • Certo’s cashback is cash that gets credited to your bill, while you can only use Cumulus points at Migros.
  • Certos’ cashback is 1% at three shops of your choice, while Cumulus Visa only has 1% cash back at Migros. Both cards have 0.33% cashback in other shops.

Insurance benefits are slightly better for the Migros Cumulus since you get extra online protection for your accounts. However, this is enough to turn the needle, and I would still choose extra cashback over insurance benefits I am unlikely to use.

Again, Migros offers e-bills while Cembra is still very late in that regard. So that is a slight advantage in favor of Migros Cumulus Visa if you like using electronic bills.

So, for me, the new Cumulus Visa credit card is not as good as the new Certo One Mastercard World by Cembra.

If you want more information, I have written an extensive review of the Certo One Mastercard credit cards.

Migros Cumulus Visa Pros

Let’s summarize the advantages of the Migros Cumulus Visa:

  • 1% cashback in Migros
  • 0.33% cashback in all other shops
  • Free card
  • Free additional card
  • Extra insurance benefits
  • Relatively cheap to use abroad
  • Support for e-bills

Migros Cumulus Visa Cons

Let’s summarize the disadvantages of the Migros Cumulus Visa:

  • The cashback can only be used at Migros
  • You get 1% cash back only at Migros

Conclusion

This new Cumulus Visa credit card is interesting. It has the same cashback as its successor, and the fees are significantly lower (but you can avoid them). The insurance benefits are also improved.

However, it is not much better than before. And there is some strong competition from Cembra. The new Certo One Mastercard World credit card, by Cembra, is superior in many points to the new Cumulus Visa card.

I plan to move from the Cumulus Mastercard to the new Certo One Mastercard World from Cembra. While there is nothing wrong with the card by Migros, the card by Cembra is superior in its cashback systems with better and higher cashback.

If you want to learn more about credit cards, you can learn about my credit card strategy.

What about you? What do you think about this new credit card?

Baptiste Wicht is the author behind thepoorswiss.com. In 2017, he realized that he was falling into the trap of lifestyle inflation. He decided to cut on his expenses and increase his income. This blog is relating his story and findings. In 2019, he is saving more than 50% of his income. He made it a goal to reach Financial Independence. You can send Mr. The Poor Swiss a message here.

18 thoughts on “Migros Cumulus Visa Credit Card Review 2022”

  1. Hello Poor Swiss,

    I have a very simple question. How the cumulus points can be used? In the other cards, you can the cashback deducted directly in the monthly payment slip (usually at the end of the year). But with the cumulus points where can you use these? they send you a letter?

  2. Just to understand. I recently recieved my migros VISA card. I shop mainly at migros so I already have my cumulus card. I also have my Amex Swiss card for 1% cash back.

    Are you telling me that if I spend at migros I can only gain cumulus points via either my cumulus card OR my credit card and not both? So the 2% (first year) cashback on the credit card can’t combine with my cumulus card to equate to 3%? And what happens when I get the 20x points for buying certain products? If correct then this card really doesn’t sound advantageous for those who shop at migros.

    Thanks

    1. Hi Chaz,

      Your understanding is correct (or at least, it’s the same as my understanding) :)
      I don’t know about the 20x points, though. But it’s true that the Migros card has never been the best card to shop at Migros, which is pretty dumb…

      1. Thanks for your answer.

        A second question I have is, I mainly got the migros card because of the no foreign exchange fees on transactions. But you mention that it’s still better to still use neon for such payments.

        My question is if it’s still better to use neon even considering I would get 0.33% cashback with migros card? Is it really 1.5% more expensive to spend my migros visa credit card overseas in comparison with using neon? If so then yeah I would be 1.2% off worse..

        Kind regards

        Chaz

        1. This card is better than most credit cards. But it’s indeed still significantly worse than Neon to pay abroad. Neon has about 0.4% (because of Mastercard) surcharge and Migros card has about 1.5% card, so it’s about 1.1% extra surcharge. if you remove the 0.3% cashback, it’s still 0.8% more expensive than Neon. I would say it depends on whether you use it a lot abroad or not. The more you use it, the more significant the difference will become.

      2. But if you pay with Amex Swisscard at Migros (it is possible) and scan your cumulus points card then you can getting 2% cashback (1% with Amex giving cash and 1% with migros cumulus points). Let me know if I am not correct.

    2. When you have a 20x points offer it will not become a 40x offer :) All default multipliers on the card will just apply to the actual price and the 20x multiplier will be applied again to the actual price. Source: Saw it on the receipt.

  3. The good thing is that you can collect cumulus and Supercard points (~1% cash back) PLUS 1% cash back with the certo card !
    Before we had only cumulus points with the migros card.

  4. A second thought…
    If you can choose the 3 shops for the 1% cashback with Certo One, do you still keep your Swisscard Cashback strategy with Amex? Or did you simplify? Normally Aldi and Lidl don’t accept Amex so Certo One is excellent option for these, right?

    1. A little time ago, I stopped using the Amex to simplify my credit cards. It was very timely because once I receive the Certo One (ordered but not received) I will be able to have as good cashback as before in most shops.
      The AMEX is still useful because you can only have three shops with Certo One, so the amex can complement it. But I feel like it lost some of its usefulness.

  5. Great and timely post as I just recently received my Certo card from Cembra and was wondering if I should change my use away from Cumulus already.
    Thanks a million!

  6. Hi Baptiste,

    Thanks a lot for the great post as usual! Afaik the new Cembra Certo does not give you:
    “1% at three shops of your choice”
    but rather at Migros, Coop and SBB (i.e., you don’t get to choose)

  7. Hi Baptiste, I guess that to get the “cashback” with the Migros credit card you need to be a Cumulus member, and as a Cumulus member you get 1% cashback at Migros anyway (also without this credit card), so where’s the benefit? Thanks!

    1. Hi Davide,

      The cashback is indeed in form of Cumulus. You are right that’s kind of a trick. With this card, the max you can get is 1% at Migros, with either the cumulus card or the cumulus credit card. So, if you only shop at Migros, it makes no difference over just having the Cumulus card.
      The difference is that this card gives you 0.3% cashback in other shops as well.

Leave a Reply

Your comment may not appear instantly since it has to go through moderation. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *